Adding pulsing xenia to my new tank

Richard1999

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,

I am new to the salt water reefing world and I currently have an evo 13.5 gallon that has been stocked with 2 clownfish. The fish have been thriving for about 2 months now. I am starting to have a little bit of this brown algae forming in the tank but I think it stopped spreading. I really really want to add Pulsing Xenia, but I dont know if my tank is even ready. I don't have a proteins skimmer but I do 2 gallon water changes every Saturday. Would it be ok to add a single frag of Pulsing Xenia or should I just keep waiting?

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sure. Keep in mind that a single frag of pulsing xenia will soon be 20 - so my advice is to keep or otherwise restrict it to an isolated rock or island. They grow like absolute weeds, are easy to care for and very hard to kill.

Eagle_Steve

Grandpa of Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,

I am new to the salt water reefing world and I currently have an evo 13.5 gallon that has been stocked with 2 clownfish. The fish have been thriving for about 2 months now. I am starting to have a little bit of this brown algae forming in the tank but I think it stopped spreading. I really really want to add Pulsing Xenia, but I dont know if my tank is even ready. I don't have a proteins skimmer but I do 2 gallon water changes every Saturday. Would it be ok to add a single frag of Pulsing Xenia or should I just keep waiting?
As long as you some nutrient available and a decent light (stock light is fine for softies) then you should give it a try.