Adding Refugium

nmaragh18

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everyone.
So I recently got a RSR Peninsula 500 and the tank is cycled and has been up for about 1.5 months now. I was wondering when is a good time to start the refugium? I am new to all of this. I know the refugium is beneficial. Thanks in advance for your responses.

Parameters as of today
PH=7.9
No3=3.8
NH3=0

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can add it whenever. The only time where you don't want it is during the initial cycle. Just make sure to get a proper light and to watch nitrate and phosphate. If these consistently stay low with the refugium and you end up not needing water changes for a while, I like adding something like iron or chaetogro.

Also, try to get the macroalgae from a source known to have clean (pest free) algae.

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What @Spare time said. And ime, high par is the guarantee for chaeto growth. I stuff my fuge with live rock to support the chaeto to the waters surface to maximize par. Get a cheap, $50 horticulture led light off Amazon

OP
OP
nmaragh18

nmaragh18

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can add it whenever. The only time where you don't want it is during the initial cycle. Just make sure to get a proper light and to watch nitrate and phosphate. If these consistently stay low with the refugium and you end up not needing water changes for a while, I like adding something like iron or chaetogro.

Also, try to get the macroalgae from a source known to have clean (pest free) algae.