Adding yellow tang and sailfin tang to existing purple tang.

Petergreatbritain

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys
Ive been keeping marine aquariums now for pushing 30 years without a break and suffered my first big setback 21 months ago which was marine velvet.
I have slowly restocked and added a purple tang with HLLE which was a tiny individual and yes it was a stupid thing to do .
The purple tang is now fully healed and is a fantastic specimen.
The tank mates are 6 springeri damsels and 2 cardinals.
The system is a very stable sps dominated reef.
A good friend is downgrading his reef and wants me to take his remaining fish which after my marine velvet episode I am very happy to do considering how healthy they are.
3 of these are tangs 1 yellow tang 1 sailfin and 1 Kole tang, the kole tang is not coming to me as it is the bully of the trio.
Over the last 3 weeks I have spent a ridiculous amount of time researching this scenario and watching you tube videos.
These are all of the zebrasomas family and I know it is not ideal but can be done and there are lots of aquariums out there with multiples of this family.
my display is 700 litres and the yellow tang and the sailfin get on perfectly well in there current home with no bickering.
Both of these are larger than my purple tang which I am told is a better situation to add to an existing purple.
From what I read is that there will often be a squabble for up to 48hrs but once territories are set these usually calm down?..
There are a lot of copy and paste answers on the forums both for and against do any of you have any advice or real life experience
Thanks in advance Pete

jpas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You really only need to worry about the yellow tang. When I added a yellow tang to my tank which housed a very aggressive purple tang, I taped a mirror to the front glass for around a week.