Algae I.D. and help?

tescalante

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recently had an algae outbreak and need help to I.D. and what to do to solve problem?
I'm brand new to the hobby and any advice would be helpful.

Thanks
IMG_9988.jpg
IMG_9989.jpg
IMG_9990.jpg

Reefer5640

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like dinoflagellates to me but the pics aren’t super clear, at least not on my phone. Can you get your hands on a microscope by chance? If you can there are people in this forum who have a lot of experience in identifying the specific type you’re dealing with. How you go about beating them off depends on what type you have. If you don’t have a microscope answering a few questions will help confirm it’s Dino’s. Does it look like stringy brown snot? Does it trap bubbles in the stringy snot? And when you try to remove it does it just fall apart or is it easily dislodged by blowing on it with a baster? If so it’s most likely Dino’s.

OP
OP
tescalante

tescalante

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't have access to a microscope, but your description would definitely describe what it looks and acts like.
What would you recommend doing to solve the problem.

Thanks
Tomy

Reefer5640

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well without knowing which one it is I’d have to say start with these things;

-Run Carbon
-Definitely run UV if you’ve got one, if not it’s a good idea to get one if you can swing it. It’ll help with a lot more than Dino’s
-Make sure there is no direct sunlight lighting the tank or even a lot of ambient sunlight
-Dont do water changes, they feed off certain trace elements in the salt
-Manual removal and keep your filter socks/pads changed out daily