Algae issues

Cwilliam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone. My 70 gallon reef tank is now been running for seven months. I’m testing weekly and everything seem stable at
Nitrate - 0
dKh - 6.5
PH - 8.2

Im still learning and realise i should be testing Phosphates so have ordered a test kit from red sea. My issue is my tank has been through the ugly stages like all new tank but i’m just wondering what’s the best option for controlling this purple slime/thread like algae which is currently going wild in the tank.
Stock is as follows:
• Clownfish x 1
• Bi colour blenny x 1
• Bangal cardinal x 1
• Yellow tailed Damsel x 1
• Hermit crab x2
• Trochus snail x 3

I’m just wondering what the best option is whether it be more CUC or is it a case of letting time take care of thing.
I do 15% water change weekly, have a small refugium in my sump containing cheato and macro algae and run a skimmer.

Im always worried about feeding too much so feed less than half a frozen cube of brine shrimp daily.

Sorry for the long post just wanted to include all info. Will attach pictures below.

282DBC24-6B60-4802-BB34-096FC8ACA450.jpeg FEABDB24-BCDD-4AE6-AF19-48C22B0BDF45.jpeg 409A20C3-A6CE-44F3-AAAC-9442B21EA63E.jpeg

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
It looks like cyanobacteria. Is it easily brushed (I mean with water current from your hand)? Does it tend to be minimal in the AM - and then more present at night (If either one it looks like cyano).