Alkalinity, Calcium and Magnesium not being utilized in SPS Tank.

ReeferMadness80G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been using Kalkwasser for a few months to keep my Alk and Cal in check, until I came across ATI Essentials and decided to give it a try. My parameters were pretty stable with
Alkalinity @ 8-9dkh
Calcium-440-470
Magnesium-1320-1400
Little run down on my tank:
Bout 7 months old.
I have around 17 frags of SPS(mostly acros) with one montipora and a few LPS (Goni, Alveopora, trumpet) and 2 anemones.
Frags seem to be growing and encrusting pretty normally, not spectacularly but they are growing, I have some slow growers but PE is good.
I run an 8 bulb ATI Sunpower over the tank which is 48x24x16 deep (DBP Rimless 80) I’ve recently really lowered the photoperiod and intensity.

Ok, MAIN QUESTION HERE.
I started dosing ATI Essentials at 50 ml(as instructed by ATI) of each per day,spread out over the day. They say to monitor your ALK daily and if you see it rise, cut back on all 3, if it falls then up your dose etc. mine started to rise and continued to rise daily until I was dosing 15 ml of each daily and then finally pulling the plug on my doser and stopping the regimen completely. With parameters then reaching
Alk@ 9.6
Cal@ 480
Mag@ 1440
I figured I’d let my tank consume these numbers naturally. However, after a week, my numbers haven’t budged. So I did a water change and got them down to
Alk@ 9
Cal@ 460
Mag@ 1400
And here 3 days later the numbers still haven’t budged. I’m so confused why I haven’t seen a drop. Is it bc I’m not dealing with full colonies and they are just .5”-3” frags?? I have no clue why I’m not seeing a drop in numbers like my corals are not using it. I’ll include some pictures
9f5056dabbf42365829cb855eade795a.jpg
fcfdd75617a3160afea2f23b8ad9eb4b.jpg
25f602f18e45eebafda9319bbd99d728.jpg
dc6b3ed94215180bf060940359f170fd.jpg
2f13f8d1bc14d5472d124543f751248e.jpg
1e189dfbd4e1b054ff18d67180cb63cd.jpg