All but 3 fish died yesterday. I'm feeling defeated.

Peter Jason

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
EMERGENCY: fish died off (beginner here)
possible issue 1.
Did I kill my live rock? To kill GHA, I dipped it park hydrogen peroxide (maybe 10 percent) and 90 percent water. I took that and put it a bucket of tank water to swish it around. All but 3 fish died yesterday. So, is all the beneficial bacteria gone? and the rock is pointless? But that was like 3-4 weeks ago
possible issue 2
to lower phosphates and nitrates, I dosed Phosphate-E and NoPox according to the directions. About 3 hours later I noticed my fish start to die.
Possible issue 3
I just added a picasso trigger to the tank (very passive guy). didn't touch my corals or even my shrimp
Im in panic mode
Possible issue 4
I set up a macro algae reactor the day before the fish died.

BeejReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very sorry for your losses Peter. :(:(

Can you please post some basics about your tank. How big, sump?, reactors, dosing, age?

Also, what are/were your parameters (ammonia, nitrate, phosphate, alkalinity, calcium, magnesium, salinity, temperature)

Which fish died, which survived? When were they added? What behaviors did you notice before the losses?

Some photos of your tank would help a lot too. You've put some really good ideas out there. How are the surviving fish faring?

Last edited:
OP
OP
P

Peter Jason

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very sorry for your losses Peter.

Can you please post some basics about your tank. How big, sump?, reactors, dosing, age?

Also, what are/were your parameters (ammonia, nitrate, phosphate, alkalinity, calcium, magnesium, salinity, temperature)

Which fish died, which survived? When were they added? What behaviors did you notice before the losses?

Some photos of your tank would help a lot too.

Surviving fish:

Picasso Trigger
Percula clown
Wrasse