Ammonia Control in a Hospital Tank

Discussion in 'Fish Disease Treatment and Diagnosis' started by Brew12, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. starypotter

    starypotter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    853
    Okay thanks, I'll make sure I have them removed for a few days at the very least before I start any treatment.
     
    Brew12 likes this.

  2. rkpetersen

    rkpetersen walked the sand with the crustaceans R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Partner Member 2019 Controller Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    4,985
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    What about zeolite in a bag in the filter for controlling ammonia? It's been around forever but I've never actually used it.
     
  3. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    381
    I'm having trouble with the quarantine. I had slowly ramped up copper with cupramine but a flasher wrasse couldn't handle it. So I removed cupramine and ordered coppersafe. Right now my copper is reading zero but the ammonia test comes back 2 ppm. I think that is wrong because the seachem badge shows halfway between safe and the first color alert. Plus the fish all look fine. How long should I wait to introduce coppersafe?
     
  4. Humblefish

    Humblefish Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Expert Contributor Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21,621
    Likes Received:
    30,001
    If copper is reading 0, I would begin ramping up Coppersafe now. Even a trace of copper can throw most liquid ammonia test kits off.

    What copper & ammonia test kit are you using??
     
    Art2249 likes this.
  5. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    381
    I have Seachem copper test and API ammonia. Ishould note this tank had live rock at one time but now is being filtered with marinepur spheres. I took the last rock out aug 1. I have some sponge in the main display sump but i want to save that for my next batch of fish. And my 76 day countdown began aug 1 because i moved rock from this tank to the display sump on that day. So i still have plenty of time but the 2 ppm result on api kind of freaked me out. Also, I've had some of these fish for 8 months, but i added the last one in June. never have seen ick.
     
  6. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    381
  7. Humblefish

    Humblefish Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Expert Contributor Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21,621
    Likes Received:
    30,001
    FWIW; I wouldn't rely upon a Seachem copper test for measuring Coppersafe.

    This is worth the investment: https://www.reef2reef.com/ams/coppe...truments-high-range-copper-checker-hi702.454/
     
    Art2249 likes this.
  8. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    381
    Thx for the advice. I bought a hanna copper test. Unfortunately the wrasse I tried to save jumped out of the tank. I have about 1/2 inch gap at the back of my net. he must have hit it perfectly. So I back to cupramine and will save the coppersafe for some other time. I am confused about the 30 day copper level. Once that is over should I remove the fish while copper is still there and acclimate them. Im concerned about lowering copper in the qt and having ich hatch before i remove the fish.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page