Anthias gasping at surface. Pls help.

uutank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
8d360fe870a5c846805e3391f1292361.jpg

06243ee200d6626ea092a40a406a3010.jpg

Just got 4 madder seaperch anthias acclimated them for 2 hours after that I put them in qt. The other 3 are doing fine, they are stressed but nothing much of problem.
But the one in picture is constantly gasping on the surface and was doing the same during acclimation also. Mind you they’ve been shipped after a long 20 hours journey. I’ve inspected for possible disease but so far I can’t see any, what should I do.

Reeferdood

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Swim bladder disease is likely the issue. I am no expert here so hopefully someone will chime in quickly for a solution.

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A fish gulping for air is low on oxygen. Something going on in gills.

This can be from a few things.

Ammonia burn is possible if you drip acclimated. We don't recommend drip acclimation for this reason.

Recommend a 30 minute bath in methalyne blue.

Parasite infested gills are another possibility.

Are these guys eating? Belly looks sunken on this fish. I understand you just got them.

OP
OP
uutank

uutank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Ammonia burn is possible if you drip acclimated. We don't recommend drip acclimation for this reason.

Are these guys eating? Belly looks sunken on this fish. I understand you just got them.

Sadly this one passed away. I’m left with 3 now. They’re not eating as I’ve just got them today only and they’ve travelled a journey of 17+hours. So the guys are pretty stressed, tried feeding them but they ain’t accepting it.
Maybe I’ll try feeding them tomorrow.
Do you suspect any disease, they’re currently in qt and I can treat them if I suspect something.

OP
OP
uutank

uutank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0