Any aquarium plumbers in the area?

jmatt

Just gettin' started. Again.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Getting ready to plumb my tank, never done it before. Is there anyone for hire in the area? I just don't wanna screw it up.

OP
OP
jmatt

jmatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i did my own plumbing when i started my 40B.

what are your questions/concerns?
Well, I've never done it before so I'm just nervous that I'll screw something up. I'm fairly handy in general and have worked with pvc before... I just don't have a roadmap here. Two pumps, one straight back to the tank, the other will feed a return but also potentially a manifold and definitely the UV sterilizer.

Snoopy 67

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pump should sit on a silicone pad if it doesn't have rubber feet, soft hose from the pump to the pipe.
This all helps with vibration.
Any connection from a manifold needs a valve to control flow. Don't forget unions for ease of removal of the pumps.
Just remember to account for the pipe going into any fittings when measuring. Tale your time & you will be fine.

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Well, I've never done it before so I'm just nervous that I'll screw something up. I'm fairly handy in general and have worked with pvc before... I just don't have a roadmap here. Two pumps, one straight back to the tank, the other will feed a return but also potentially a manifold and definitely the UV sterilizer.
so basically you’re unsure of what materials are needed? or you’re concerned about how to piece everything together(the design)?

OP
OP
jmatt

jmatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pump should sit on a silicone pad if it doesn't have rubber feet, soft hose from the pump to the pipe.
This all helps with vibration.
Any connection from a manifold needs a valve to control flow. Don't forget unions for ease of removal of the pumps.