Any clue?

Zamreefman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When green hair algee dies off does it look like black stringy spider webs????

I've been having trouble with my aquarium ever since I got it back from a friend.....

It was covered in green hair algee all over the rocks the walls and the sand...

However I do feel whatever is going on is my doing.. when I got it back I added all new water and new live sand.... What I did wrong (I believe) is I didn't get rid of all the old sand before adding new live sand.. ever since that it seems I've just had problems... The water spikes one day and is cloudy for days and will be mostly clear some days (I think that has part to a starfish trying to heal from a massive wound) but my main concern is the sand..... It went from white to a brown to now has this black stringy spider web looking stuff. Not all the sand but in a few patches.

I am a noob mostly and would love any kind of feed back.. thank you for your time.

Tahoe61

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
An image would really help to ID the offender and offer assistance. :)

OP
OP
Zamreefman

Zamreefman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Another noob problem... I can't figure out how to post the pic... I've tried and tried... Sorry Im going to try and add it to YouTube and then add it to here. I read that somewhere the other day.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@saltyfilmfolks can answer this. He is the algae master.
I guess I have a thing for alges.;)
An image would really help to ID the offender and offer assistance. :)
Yup +1
Thank you..... So another noob question, how do I get ahold of @saltyfilmfolks?
Tag him like you did
Another noob problem... I can't figure out how to post the pic... I've tried and tried... Sorry Im going to try and add it to YouTube and then add it to here. I read that somewhere the other day.