Anyone have a good way to dose cupramine for ich

Discussion in 'Fish Disease Treatment and Diagnosis' started by johnsamm7, Dec 29, 2017.

  1. johnsamm7

    johnsamm7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    117
    I just bought two clowns and had them in my qt for about a week and notices a small white dot on one of the clowns side of the head I never qt'd before or dosed copper if anyone could give me a guide to do this would be greatly appreciated I don't want to screw it up and lose a fish thank you
     
    Big G and 4FordFamily like this.
    Tags:

  2. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Big G and 4FordFamily like this.
  3. johnsamm7

    johnsamm7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    117
    Awesome thank you for the link
     
    4FordFamily likes this.
  4. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    No problem maybe we can both treat and keep track at the same time. my qt should be set up any day now
     
    4FordFamily likes this.
  5. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    And if we hit a snag we can turn to the #reefsquad
     
    Maritimer and 4FordFamily like this.
  6. dbl

    dbl It Takes Less Energy to be Nice Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,920
    Likes Received:
    19,155
    Location:
    SW Florida
    Good luck to the two of you.
     
    NowGlazeIT, 4FordFamily and Big G like this.
  7. 4FordFamily

    4FordFamily Tang, Angel, & Wrasse Addict Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12,948
    Likes Received:
    17,322
    Location:
    Carmel, Indiana
    https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/copper-treatment.193343/

    Cupramine is ionic copper. I dose until the copper measures a stable .5 ppm. I use the seachem copper test kit, as cupramine is a seachem product.

    I increase it more slowly than the instructions say, I take generally 3-5 days to get the levels to
    therapeutic levels, 5-8 for sensitive fish such as wrasse.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2017
    Big G, Maritimer and crabs_mcjones like this.
  8. johnsamm7

    johnsamm7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gotcha awesome sounds good to me so how do u compensate for evaporated water do u still just top off with r/o or do you have to dose the r/0 with copper
     
  9. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Dose with copper when replacing evaporation
     
  10. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Thank you both for making this site awesome. I’ll bring my questions here but I feel really prepared as far as research goes now I just got to add some dr Tim’s and get started
     
    4FordFamily likes this.
  11. Instigate

    Instigate Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    461
    Location:
    San Diego
    I didn't think copper evaporated. Are you sure about this?
     
    Oldsalt01 likes this.
  12. Maritimer

    Maritimer Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    5,863
    Likes Received:
    9,641
    Location:
    SouthWestern Connecticut
    Copper does not evaporate.

    Unless it's being absorbed by rock, sand, or something else in the tank, levels should remain stable. Test regularly to confirm that. _Do_ dose copper to water-change replacement water, and dose the copper _before_ adding the water to the tank.

    ~Bruce
     
  13. Big G

    Big G Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    5,069
    Location:
    Southern, Oregon
    Good idea to get yourself a Seachem ammonia alert badge to keep an eye on the ammonia in your qt. Regular testing kits won't work properly when there is copper in the water. Place the badge deeply into the tank away from the aquarium light. It can interfere with the reading on the badge. When you are reading the badge, shine a flashlight from behind or the side of the badge to get an accurate color reading. If the badge shows ammonia elevating levels, do water change with fresh mixed saltwater and copper.
     
    4FordFamily likes this.
  14. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Wow I thought I’ve read it on here to fill Evap with copper. Thank you guys for correcting that potential fatal mistake
     
  15. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    I’m curious about keeping sponges for good bacteria to keep ammonia in check I have two kinds the black corse sponges and the 2colored white and blue sponge
     
  16. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Is water change the only way to keep ammonia down during copper treatment
    Or can I add live bacterial
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2017
  17. Maritimer

    Maritimer Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    5,863
    Likes Received:
    9,641
    Location:
    SouthWestern Connecticut
    I use an AquaClear 110 in my QT, and seed it with bacteria before beginning a round. Bio-Spira seems to work well, but you can also simply leave a new sponge (which has not been used with copper) in the sump of your display for a few weeks, to allow bacteria to colonize it. Copper and antibiotics will slow the reproduction of bacteria, but won't shut them down, and they'll help a great deal with your ammonia levels.

    Any surface the bacteria can colonize, through which water can be flowed, will be suitable - sponges, floss, whatever.

    ~Bruce
     
    4FordFamily and Big G like this.
  18. Salty Carlo

    Salty Carlo Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    65

    I agree, I do it the same way. I dose half the recommended daily dose until I reach the recommended PPM so it won't be such a shock to the fish.
     
  19. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    So I have live bacteria in a bottle a biocube29 for the qt bio sphere and sponges .
    I can’t seed from my old tank because it is not disease free. you guys are currently part of a total restart button im hitting for my tank. I just finished up setting up a brand new 60g cube stocked with
    2 fire fish
    1 purple fire fish
    1 white belly Wrasse
    1 harptail blenny
    1 electric maroon
    1 cleaner shrimp
    And various lps glued to the aquascape

    Now around Christmas Eve I noticed what may have been white stringy poop Right there is when I started to research, since then I’ve decided to expand my commitment to this hobby and my livestock. simply put I don’t want to throw anymore money into something and just Hope that it’s not all going to go down the drain one day.

    And as @brandon429 put it. I don’t want to wonder what’s going to happen. I want to command what happens next in my reef tank!
     
    brandon429, 4FordFamily and Big G like this.
  20. NowGlazeIT

    NowGlazeIT Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Palm Springs area
    Supplies just came in yesterday
    Prazipro
    Coppersafe
    API test kit
    Metro/focus
    Ammonia badge
    4oz dr Tim’s bacteria in a bottle
     
    Maritimer, 4FordFamily and Big G like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...