Anyone use a DC battery backup directly with a Profilux 4 controller?

AI Nero 5

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
I know many people use a traditional UPS as backup - but it seem terribly inefficient to convert from the battery backup (DC) to AC and then back to DC via the power adapter.
For the same stored energy presumably you can get many more hours from a direct connection to a DC backup.

Has anyone explored connecting a Profilux controller directly to a DC battery backup (circumventing the inbox AC to DC adapter)?

I was wondering if you could use something like the VorTech Battery Back-up which has two ports - could you use one for your circulation powerhead and one for the controller (not sure if other devices will actually work with the Vortech)?

Or would both work if plugged into something like this?:
 
Last edited:
Avast
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
What's the output voltage of the power supply, its not listed on the ghl site.
The Profilux 4 is 12V.

The Vortech's MP10s are 24V I believe.

I'm not sure if one supply could cover both. But even if you needed to supplies, I wasn't sure if the concept is sound.
 
Last edited:

Pistondog

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
3,255
Reaction score
6,328
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
The Profilux 4 is 12V.

The Vortech's MP10s are 24V I believe.

I'm not sure if one supply could cover both. But even if you needed to supplies, I wasn't sure if the concept is sound.
You could probably use this with a 12 v battery. This will keep the brain working, but not all connected loads

The vortech would need 2 x 12v batteries in series.
 
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
Is there reason you couldn't just run it directly off the back up? Some (like the one I initially posted) allow pass through power - so presumably you could use while keeping the backup topped off.

You could probably use this with a 12 v battery. This will keep the brain working, but not all connected loads

The vortech would need 2 x 12v batteries in series.
 
Last edited:
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
It also looks like there are some 12V to 24V boost module made for boating applications that could potentially be used. I'm wondering if the setup could look something like this:

Screen Shot 2021-04-14 at 10.18.38 PM.png
 
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
Hmm - I was just going by the in box AC/DC adapter which is 24V. Do you know if you get the full output with a 12V supply?

I do not think you need the step up transformer for the MP10. Ecotech only calls for using their booster on the Vectra pumps.
 
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
Ah got it - I was planning to replace the standard power supply directly. Since I'm also supplying backup power to the Profilux controller (which has the power loss detection module) - I can use that to reduce the output when on backup mode, but I think I'll still need the 24V for to enable full normal operation.

I was assuming you were hooking up the battery to the batteryback up port on the MP10

1618500939902.png
 
Maxout
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
My plan is to have the Profilux and MP10 run off of the pass through power from the battery backup 100% of the time (and then the battery in theory will kick in if the power cuts off).

Does anyone have a reason why this plan won't work (or doesn't make sense - technically or otherwise)? I'm happy to be the guinea pig if it's a sound concept but just unproven.
 

Pistondog

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
3,255
Reaction score
6,328
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
My plan is to have the Profilux and MP10 run off of the pass through power from the battery backup 100% of the time (and then the battery in theory will kick in if the power cuts off).

Does anyone have a reason why this plan won't work (or doesn't make sense - technically or otherwise)? I'm happy to be the guinea pig if it's a sound concept but just unproven.
No reason it won't work. Please keep us posted!
 
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
No reason it won't work. Please keep us posted!

I found a battery backup with both a 12V and 24V regulated DC output:
PROGENY 300W Portable Power Station, 299Wh Backup Battery with AC Outlet, Regulated DC 12V, USB-C and Wireless Charging Solar Generators for Camping

Doing a trial run now with the Profilux and so far so good - been running all day without issue.

By my calculation this should be able to power the Profilux and one MP10 for close to 24 hrs. Will keep you posted on actual duration.
 
OP
SFReefer1

SFReefer1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
San Francisco
Just completed my first run to failure - actually lasted almost 45 hours with the MP10 running a mix of reef crest and lagoon mode. Pretty happy with this solution so far!

I haven't set up my MP10 to be directly controlled by my Profilux yet, but I'm interested to see how long I can get if I reduce the output when the power cut is detected. Will feedback when I have time to setup and test again.
 
AI Hydra

How long does it take to you to get an inch of acropora growth? (on average)

  • A couple of weeks or less

    Votes: 3 1.5%
  • Up to 1 month

    Votes: 13 6.3%
  • Up to 2 months

    Votes: 19 9.2%
  • Up to 3 months

    Votes: 35 17.0%
  • Up to 6 months

    Votes: 49 23.8%
  • Up to 12 months

    Votes: 14 6.8%
  • 12+ Months

    Votes: 5 2.4%
  • I can't grow acropora

    Votes: 59 28.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 4.4%
TSM Aquatics
Top