Apex AFS Programming

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

GoPitt88

Pitt Basketball is BACK!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
1,066
Reaction score
3,828
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'd like to have the drum rotate twice when I manually click on Feed Cycle A. I don't want to program a start time. I need this to only happen when I manually click on Feed Cycle A. Any ideas?
Thanks [emoji16]
 
OP
OP
GoPitt88

GoPitt88

Pitt Basketball is BACK!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
1,066
Reaction score
3,828
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My current program states:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If FeedA 000 Then ON

What should I add?
 

themcfreak

A Surfing Starfish
View Badges
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
512
Reaction score
691
Location
Austin, TX
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think it is some sort of OSC statement, but I'm not 100% sure. You may need to use a virtual outlet to do that. I know if you wanted to do automatically based on time (this code does it twice a day, I believe, with 3 rotations. note on rotations after code):
---
OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then On if Time 00:00 to 13:00 Then Off
if Time 13:04 to 17:00 Then Off
if Time 17:04 to 00:00 Then Off

if FeedA 000 Then On
---
Note that each ‘If Time..’ statement is longer – 4 minutes instead of 2 which gives you the 3 x 1 minute rotations plus a little time so the outlet doesn’t turn OFF too early. If you wanted a different number of drum rotations at each feeding, simply adjust the times accordingly – 2 minutes for a single rotation, 3 minutes for 2 rotations, 4 minutes for 3 rotations, etc. This way you could have 2 rotations at the 1pm feeding but 4 rotations at the 5pm feeding. (credit, Neptune guide)
 
OP
OP
GoPitt88

GoPitt88

Pitt Basketball is BACK!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
1,066
Reaction score
3,828
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The problem is that I don't want to do it automatically based on time. ☹️
 
OP
OP
GoPitt88

GoPitt88

Pitt Basketball is BACK!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
1,066
Reaction score
3,828
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

LiquidFunk

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
185
Reaction score
45
Location
Vancouver WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have my AFS programmed via Fusion as follows:
First feeding 10:00
Rotations 1
Feedings per day 2
Repeat interval 420


However my feeder continues to run through the night,,, I woke up this AM to hearing it run twice in the middle of the night. It has been doing this for weeks but always forget to fix it when I wake up. Today I finally got it back on fusion because I could not find the programming on the device itself. With my PO4 at 1ppm I must get this fixed. I only have it running my feeder, CO2 and heaters and cannot get it to do that right.
 

LiquidFunk

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
185
Reaction score
45
Location
Vancouver WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@LiquidFunk can you post the specific code for your AFS? Have you searched at all for solutions on the Neptune Forums?

What else would you need besides the attached?
I have not looked extensively for a solution, but since this thread was titled “Apex AFS programming” I thought it was appropriate.

49482913-4853-40C7-AED2-24CA58C53B55.jpeg
 

rkpetersen

walked the sand with the crustaceans
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
4,528
Reaction score
8,865
Location
Near Seattle
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What else would you need besides the attached?
I have not looked extensively for a solution, but since this thread was titled “Apex AFS programming” I thought it was appropriate.

Go to the Outputs page in Fusion, locate your feeder output (it will be of Type 'afs'), click on it, and then either copy/paste or screenshot the code here.

Should be something like this:

OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
If Time 00:00 to 09:59 Then OFF
If Time 10:01 to 16:59 Then OFF
If Time 17:01 to 00:00 Then OFF
 

LiquidFunk

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
185
Reaction score
45
Location
Vancouver WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Go to the Outputs page in Fusion, locate your feeder output (it will be of Type 'afs'), click on it, and then either copy/paste or screenshot the code here.

Should be something like this:

OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
If Time 00:00 to 09:59 Then OFF
If Time 10:01 to 16:59 Then OFF
If Time 17:01 to 00:00 Then OFF

I cannot find this type of output in either the iOS app or desktop interface, all I get is the attached screen shots?

Thanks for the help

05903497-A45E-42C6-A5AF-2567A4131818.png


A273F990-3AF6-4C02-865E-094A48273921.png
 

rkpetersen

walked the sand with the crustaceans
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
4,528
Reaction score
8,865
Location
Near Seattle
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Under 'Control Type', pull the menu down to 'Advanced' and your code will appear.

I should have mentioned that step. I keep everything on Advanced and sometimes forget that it isn't the default. This also works with other outputs that have been configured through the wizard.
 

LiquidFunk

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
185
Reaction score
45
Location
Vancouver WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Under 'Control Type', pull the menu down to 'Advanced' and your code will appear.

I should have mentioned that step. I keep everything on Advanced and sometimes forget that it isn't the default. This also works with other outputs that have been configured through the wizard.

That makes more sense, man I thought I was completely blind not being able to find it. :0

I had not logged into the apex for years, so perhaps now that I’ve fussed with it, it will be fixed?

C0538598-9C6F-471D-99F1-C0EC34B6344F.png
 

rkpetersen

walked the sand with the crustaceans
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
4,528
Reaction score
8,865
Location
Near Seattle
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, that programming is correct, and should do what you expect it to. You should only be getting two automatic feedings a day, plus any manual feedings that you may do.

You've got logging turned on I see, so if it happens again, it would be very interesting to see what the Output Log from that time shows. Or, if you remember exactly when it happened before, look at that day/time's output log and see if the unscheduled activations were recorded.
 

LiquidFunk

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
185
Reaction score
45
Location
Vancouver WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It happened at 2:30am this am, but logs apparently wheren’t turned on prior to me getting it online and logging into fusion today. I may set up a motion camera tonight to catch it if it runs at night again.

Thanks again for the help, I hope it works, good thing it’s only the feeder because if it was a dosing pump or otherwise going crazy I could have nuked the tank....
 

A worm with high fashion and practical utility: Have you ever kept feather dusters in your reef aquarium?

  • I currently have feather dusters in my tank.

    Votes: 64 36.8%
  • Not currently, but I have had feather dusters in my tank in the past.

    Votes: 59 33.9%
  • I have not had feather dusters, but I hope to in the future.

    Votes: 25 14.4%
  • I have no plans to have feather dusters in my tank.

    Votes: 26 14.9%
  • Other.

    Votes: 0 0.0%

New Posts

Back
Top