Apex conversion to GHL

Neptune
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
bow thank you GIF by Alan Walker
I feel what both of you are saying, maybe sometime I will do that comparison someday, when I win the lottery, LOL!!!
 
Avast

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
It's more accurate than the Apex sensor, I am just trying to see how much more. That's what I am trying to see. It will take some time as they degrade over time.
Yeah, i guess it has some utility like an overflowing ATO, but anything that test salinity for me that isnt accurate is almost useless (and dangerous for sensitive corals).
 

BeltedCoyote

Philosopher king of the Memes
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
6,698
Reaction score
33,583
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I feel what both of you are saying, maybe sometime I will do that comparison someday, when I win the lottery, LOL!!!

I may or may not have forgotten I posted here regarding hydros compared to apex and ghl.

thus, I answered a question with no greater intention than to say “nope. Oh they have this now” lol

Then I posted a gif of apology for derailing. Sorry again Bill

that’s all.
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
I may or may not have forgotten I posted here regarding hydros compared to apex and ghl.

thus, I answered a question with no greater intention than to say “nope. Oh they have this now” lol

Then I posted a gif of apology for derailing. Sorry again Bill

that’s all.
Your all good reefing brother. I would like to do a comparison between GHL and Hydros as I feel they are two best out there. Both are great at a different price point.
 

BeltedCoyote

Philosopher king of the Memes
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
6,698
Reaction score
33,583
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Your all good reefing brother. I would like to do a comparison between GHL and Hydros as I feel they are two best out there. Both are great at a different price point.

ill be documenting my experience in the coming months so feel to draw on my anecdotal data!
 
AS
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
One thing I am disappointed in GHL is the size of the 2377 GPH Flow meter and unions. They size them at 3/4 in, that is to small. IT should be at least 1 in. How many pumps have the horsepower to actually push 2377 thru a 3/4 in hole. I will have to step down my return plumbing from 1.25 to .75 to make it work, thus, more head pressure on a pump. The Apex flow meter does the same, but, they do have a massive 2 in option, but the weight of that flow meter...UGH!!! I feel they both have some redesigning to do on their flow meter diameters and options. I am going with GHL flow meters on my return rebuild because I like their method of reading flow vs. Apex. I have seen my Apex flow meters steadily decline, flow wise. Is it the meter or the return pump, after 6-7 months? Impellers get dirty as do the pumps, SO, which one is it.
 

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
One thing I am disappointed in GHL is the size of the 2377 GPH Flow meter and unions. They size them at 3/4 in, that is to small. IT should be at least 1 in. How many pumps have the horsepower to actually push 2377 thru a 3/4 in hole. I will have to step down my return plumbing from 1.25 to .75 to make it work, thus, more head pressure on a pump. The Apex flow meter does the same, but, they do have a massive 2 in option, but the weight of that flow meter...UGH!!! I feel they both have some redesigning to do on their flow meter diameters and options. I am going with GHL flow meters on my return rebuild because I like their method of reading flow vs. Apex. I have seen my Apex flow meters steadily decline, flow wise. Is it the meter or the return pump, after 6-7 months? Impellers get dirty as do the pumps, SO, which one is it.

I agree. The short run of 3/4 " tubing shouldnt add all that much restriction though, if that helps.
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
I agree. The short run of 3/4 " tubing shouldnt add all that much restriction though, if that helps.
Apex says 5 in, GHL doesn't say, but, they both said to keep it as far away from a 90 as possible.
 

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
Apex says 5 in, GHL doesn't say, but, they both said to keep it as far away from a 90 as possible.
Sure. Id say if you have say 6 feet of total return plumbing from pump to tank and 4 1/2 feet is 1 inch and 1 and 1/2 feet is a straight 3/4 inch run with flow meter (6 inches on either side of flow meter) that would work just fine and since the vast majority of the plumbing is 1 inch diameter-- flow will still be close to what it would be without the reduction section..
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
Sure. Id say if you have say 6 feet of total return plumbing from pump to tank and 4 1/2 feet is 1 inch and 1 and 1/2 feet is a straight 3/4 inch run with flow meter (6 inches on either side of flow meter) that would work just fine and since the vast majority of the plumbing is 1 inch diameter-- flow will still be close to what it would be without the reduction section..
I agree, but, I still ordered new bulkheads and such to reinstall my return lock lines and such. I am trying to keep the reduction a little as possible. I will run 1.25 as long as possible.
 
Avast

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
I agree, but, I still ordered new bulkheads and such to reinstall my return lock lines and such. I am trying to keep the reduction a little as possible. I will run 1.25 as long as possible.
Yeah 1.5 inch plumbing will definately increase flow!
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
Yeah 1.5 inch plumbing will definately increase flow!
1.25 will increase flow, but, its not about increasing overall flow, as the new return will be totally different. Its about the flow meters.
 

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
1.25 will increase flow, but, its not about increasing overall flow, as the new return will be totally different. Its about the flow meters.
I agree they should offer flow meters in a variety of plumbing sizes. But the 3/4 works and if they can spend their time improving the app and software instead of new flow meters--or anything else or new--i sure would appreciate it... kinda on the brink of ditching ghl because of the usablity issue.
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
Have you considered putting the flow meter on a 3/4" line in parallel with the main line?
They will be, roughly 5 in before the actual returns.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
1,839
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
Have you considered putting the flow meter on a 3/4" line in parallel with the main line?
@Billdg What again are you measuring flow for?

I ran my flow meter parallel to my return on the 50 gallon so i could measure flow through UV and chiller... Didn't really care about overall flow to tank, gate valves allow adjustment of flow directly to tank, or through parallel line i wanted to measure.

1637617035595.png
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
My Apex flow meter are 5 in from the slip 90's. It is what Apex recommended. I have not ordered, let alone installed the GHL flow meters yet. I am going off of my UV reactor flow readings which is using a GHL flow sensor. I like what it is showing me over the Apex flow meters.
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
Sorry, I just have to say this as I see that BOTH GHL and APEX have their pluses and minus's. I have learned that both have they upsides, and, it causes us to lean towards one side. I still hate the GHL connectivity, I constantly have to close the app and reopen it to get it to connect. I never had that issue with Apex. I also have nothing but issues with the Apex flow meters, a little bit of algae will effect them. I also have a major issue with the Apex Ghost coding. It may be what caused my ATK to be totally worthless and a waste of money. I am still leaning towards the GHL because of the flow meters and the IOND. I am still not sure how accurate the Trident is as well.
 
OP
Billldg

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
16,564
Reaction score
115,635
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
Are you on an Android or Apple device?
I have both, though I monitor the GHL on my Android. Not sure how how that applies to my last post though.

Apex is Apple driven, and yet, I have no issue connecting to my Apex with my Apple work phone and my Samsung S20+.

I also have no issue connecting with my Windows based desktop to my Apple based Apex system. I constantly have to close the MyGHL browser and reconnect to get it to work.
 
Last edited:
Neptune

Have you ever torn down a tank over an issue you couldn't seem to beat?

  • Yes! I have. (Tell us about what issue you faced in the thread.)

    Votes: 150 24.4%
  • No. Thankfully, I haven't.

    Votes: 317 51.5%
  • Nope, but it almost happened. (Share your experience in the thread.)

    Votes: 45 7.3%
  • Not yet, but I'm almost there. (Tell us what you're dealing with.)

    Votes: 52 8.4%
  • If you reef long enough, this will eventually happen to you.

    Votes: 41 6.7%
  • Other

    Votes: 11 1.8%
REEFTIDE
Top