Aquatop 24 g build things to think about

ghostmantank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby I am only about 6 months into it but wanted to share my limited knowledge and things I have learned so far with the AIO.

I bought the aquatop 24 thinking this would be the best way to enter the hobby but learn that the AIO is not setup the best. I wanted to do a nano reef with some fish coral and anemones. So here is what I have learned and things you should think about when getting this tank (it is not a bad tank at all I am not saying that but if you want the tank to really take off do these things out of the box and save yourself a lot of trouble)

1. The light that comes with it does nothing it was just enough to keep the coral alive but I did end up losing some coral at the bottom. So I changed the light out with an AI HD Prim Reef light and wow now the tank is getting the light it needs

2. The first (intake) chamber, the sponge that comes with it might as well be an open door it does nothing and gets dirty but would back flow it into the tank when doing water changes. So I took this out and cut it down to just 1 inch and used that as a base to add filter floss, nitrate reducing pad, carbon pad so that is what I have in my first chamber.

3. The skimmer that it comes with I am not impressed with at all it really doesn't skim much. I have not found an answer to this yet ( very open to ideas) it seems like there is nothing I can find.. yet... that would fit in the chamber and replace it so I am still working on this issues. Also thinking about just doing a DIY sump and not using the chambers at all but we will see where I go with that idea.