Aqurium Lighting Black Box with Currrent Loop.

BRS
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
My tank is a standard 125 which is 21" tall. My 2 300 watt viparapectras are hanging about 12" above the tank, and I only keep them at around 50% blue and 25% white. I've only had corals for a little over a year but at my current settings I can grow everything from zoas to acropora.

Since my tank is rimmed and has the two black braces on the top I actually wish I would've gone with 3 165 watt fixtures instead of 2 300 watt. With the lights at that height I don't see any shading from the braces on the corals, but if a fish is swimming at the top I can see it go through dark places as it swims under a brace.

Great advise, yes my tand is that as well, I have the 2 plastic braces.. thanks for the heads up...
 
Avast

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Great advise, yes my tand is that as well, I have the 2 plastic braces.. thanks for the heads up...
I was going to post a picture of my tank but surprisingly I don't have a full tank shot on my phone and I'm not home right now. Later this evening I will post a full tank picture so you can get an idea of what it looks like with the 2 300watt.
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
2 of those could work with your size tank!

I made DIY stands if your a into DIY


Yes I have my display in the wall.... still cycling.... see below...

I do clone myself because is to difficult...lol...

That is front and back, I got a closet which the wife killed me.... lol...
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0528.jpg
    IMG_0528.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_0529.jpg
    IMG_0529.jpg
    135.5 KB · Views: 25
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I ended up hanging mine from the ceiling to get the height I needed. I wouldn't mind seeing a pic of your stand if you have one handy.
I posted pictures above... Thanks... I think the 3 165W like was suggested by Gtinnil is a great idea...
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
So after actually paying more attention to my lights they are not a foot above the water, they're 8" above the water at most. Here is a full tank shot so you can see what the lights look like on my tank. Most of my corals are still frags, but all of my corals (minus a few exceptions) have done well in my tank with the viparapectra lights.
20210701_161916.jpg
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
So after actually paying more attention to my lights they are not a foot above the water, they're 8" above the water at most. Here is a full tank shot so you can see what the lights look like on my tank. Most of my corals are still frags, but all of my corals (minus a few exceptions) have done well in my tank with the viparapectra lights.
20210701_161916.jpg
Nice, you did mention your 24" from the bottom ?
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hey I just noticed, where di you get those power heads on each side ? do they work well circulating water ?
 

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Nice, you did mention your 24" from the bottom ?
The tank is 21" and the light is close to 8" above tank, so I'm probably close to 29" from light to bottom of tank. Unfortunately I don't have a par meter so I can't tell you what my par levels are.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hey I just noticed, where di you get those power heads on each side ? do they work well circulating water ?
They're just the cheap jebao scp150. But any brand gyre pump would work the same. They're set to alternate turning on and they do a good job of creating a wave motion in the tank. I'd prefer them to be horizontal but they wouldn't fit that way with my corner overflows.
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
How long have you had them ? Trying to find something so i do not have so many in my tank due to my aquas
cape...
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hey does the Vipraspectra have the ramp up and ramp down feature, or is just turn on and off the channels ?
 

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I've had mine for around 2 years with no problems at all. They only have the ability to set on/off times, and what intensity you want each channel to be. No ramping or anything fancy.

Actually I believe they can be made to ramp up and down with an apex controller if you install a seperate board, but you would have to be very comfortable with diy. I only mention it because I am going to try and make mine ramp up and down in the near future and I'm kinda excited about it.
 
OP
diver22

diver22

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
20
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I've had mine for around 2 years with no problems at all. They only have the ability to set on/off times, and what intensity you want each channel to be. No ramping or anything fancy.

Actually I believe they can be made to ramp up and down with an apex controller if you install a seperate board, but you would have to be very comfortable with diy. I only mention it because I am going to try and make mine ramp up and down in the near future and I'm kinda excited about it.
Do you know what board is it ?
 

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
3,486
Review score
+0 /0 /-0

Cool tangs

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
153
Reaction score
241
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Aus
I ended up hanging mine from the ceiling to get the height I needed. I wouldn't mind seeing a pic of your stand if you have one handy.
20210706_211445.jpg


Going to eventually get a light for the middle and build another stand so I have more even spread. Ive mounted them this way because my tank has some depth to the sides
 
BRS

How long does it take to you to get an inch of acropora growth? (on average)

  • A couple of weeks or less

    Votes: 4 1.6%
  • Up to 1 month

    Votes: 14 5.6%
  • Up to 2 months

    Votes: 24 9.6%
  • Up to 3 months

    Votes: 45 18.1%
  • Up to 6 months

    Votes: 55 22.1%
  • Up to 12 months

    Votes: 18 7.2%
  • 12+ Months

    Votes: 9 3.6%
  • I can't grow acropora

    Votes: 70 28.1%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 10 4.0%
Top