Are Deep Sand Beds really a thing of the past?

Kitjo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Almost 20 years ago, when I was first going to start a reef tank, my plan was to do a deep sand bed. I loved the idea that deep sand beds (without sand sifting creatures) were an integrated part of the reef ecosystem. It appeared that there were a lot of people who had them for years and years.

It appears now that the hobby has moved away from this.

Is this because deep sand beds do not work?
Is this because deep sand beds are too risky?
Is this because deep sand beds have been replaced by something better?
Is this because deep sand beds have just shifted in popularity?

Is there anyone still starting new tanks with deep sand beds?

Thanks!

dmsc2fs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert but I did a few searches on this topic. They work, but they are risky. They can trap gasses that when released can kill the entire livestock. Many people have had success with them from what I have read. When it is disturbed is when the problems appear. They have been replaced by a number of different options including Algae reactors and other devices that address nitrates such as the Nitrate destroyer.

Rjramos

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Deep sand beds worked in reducing nitrates very efficiently. The biggest deterrent to these systems were the amount of space required to put one in place. No one wanted the required +4 inches in their display and it wasn’t easy to accommodate under the cabinet either. Not only depth but also surface area. The most important part of these systems was the anoxic layer. Nothing ever replaced this, just we found other ways to reduce nutrients. I personally went the miracle mud and growing caulerpa algaes route. The mud works in as little as 1” because the smaller particles provide the necessary anoxic conditions.
Here’s Bob Goemans booklet on the subject, copyright 2000.
image.jpg