Are you using a prefilter for automatic water changes? Which one?

BRS

MikeTheNewbie

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
215
Reaction score
124
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
Hi, I recently read a post from ReefBuilders where he explains that prefilters are a must for any dosing pump pulling ‘live’ water. He shares that the filters should not have metallic components, which makes total sense. The article shows a picture of 3 models and a link to Amazon. So turns out that the one I got from the link has a metalic cap inside the filter :S and after a closer look it seems all the models in his picture have that metalic cap binding the paper filter.
Anyway, I hope anyone can recomend a model that works and doesn't have metalic components.
Thanks in advance!
 
RAP

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
15,043
Reaction score
95,475
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nottinghamshire England
What do you mean pre filter

I have fine mesh filter socks over all inputs and exits of the actual tubing for the Apex DOS water change system if that’s what you mean. To prevent anything entering and possibly blocking the tubes
 
OP
M

MikeTheNewbie

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
215
Reaction score
124
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
Yeah, that sounds like a good option.
This is what they show in the article
inline-prefilter.jpg
 

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
2,779
Reaction score
3,533
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I use an old masterflex peristaltic pump for my AWC and I have never used any kind of filter. Why would it be necessary? I've never had an issue with anything plugging my lines.
 
Avast

dwest

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
3,638
Reaction score
8,347
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Northern KY
I’ve used a liter meter 3 for years for AWC. No prefilters and I don't use filter socks in my system. My alkatronic uses a prefilter so it’s probably a good idea with AWC but not necessary IMO.
 
OP
M

MikeTheNewbie

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
215
Reaction score
124
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
I've been doing auto water changes with Neptune DOS for a few months now. The manual gives instructions for "Tubing Placement with AWC" but doesn't mention filters at any point.
My tank is fairly new (9 months I think) and my sump was really clean until recently when it started growing tons of little pineapple sponges. When I read the article it made sense that stuff could grow on the 1/4 inch lines used by the DOS. I haven't seen anything myself but most of my tubing is opaque so I'm trying to learn the different approaches the community has for this. Great info so far. I think there is no bad advice. Everyones tanks and approaches are different so please keep commenting!
 
BRS

Do you house a "Reef Safe" Angelfish in your reef tank?

  • YES and it's going good

    Votes: 200 41.2%
  • YES but it's not working out

    Votes: 13 2.7%
  • NO I have tried it in the past and it didn't work out

    Votes: 44 9.1%
  • NO I haven't tried yet

    Votes: 213 43.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 3.1%
Coral-vault.com
Top