ATI Essentials white bacteria/slime build up in pipes?

Discussion in 'ATI Aquaristik' started by Finhead, Jan 1, 2018.

1. Finhead

Finhead Active Member

I've been dosing the ATI Essentials for 2 months now, that's the soonest I could get it here in Canada. Growth and coloring in corals has been fantasitc but I am getting what I assume is a bacteria build up on the return pump/pipes and the drain pipes. It builds up within 2-3 weeks and starts letting loose into the display tank when the return is shut off and back on for feeding.
    The only thing I am dosing is the ATI Essentials, I feed one time a day and use Amino Acids at 1/2 the amount listed every 2 days.
    I checked my dosing containers today to see if it was present in any of the solution and it looks to be coming from the #1 Alk mix, #2 and #3 are perfectly clear still. This was only mixed 16 days ago with fresh made 0 TDS RODI water.

Anyone have any ideas what would cause this?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Tags:

2. ATI North America

ATI North America Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

Hello Finhead,

A few questions, what was in these containers prior to use with ATI Essentials? Do you add Amino acids to this solution or dose them separate?

There are no sugars, nitrogen or phosphorus to support life in Essentials, so there must be some other contaminant or this is no bacteria at all.

It appears they are soda bottles, so it is likely the result of residual sugars from the soda.

3. Finhead

Finhead Active Member

They were brand new off the shelf bought the day of, rinsed with heated RODI water and converted to Dosing containers. They are a food grade plasitc container so that is what I used, no chance of contamination with these.

I use a syringe to dose AA's every second day when feeding, I use 5ml of Acropower which approx 40% of the min doseage the say on the bottle. So very very low dose of AA's.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  4. Finhead

Finhead Active Member