ATI LED Hybrid Powermodule Running Hot!

Discussion in 'ATI Aquaristik' started by -Logzor, Dec 26, 2017.

1. -Logzor

-Logzor Valuable Member

I've been running the ATI LED Hybrid Powermodule for a couple of years now over my 150g SPS reef. I've noticed that the body of the fixture is always extremely hot, even in the winter time in the basement the exterior of the fixture is 43C and I've measured the end caps inside the fixture at 45C using an infrared temperature gun. In warmer weather I'm sure the temperatures exceed these values considerably.

I've read online from numerous sources that T5 bulbs should run no hotter than 35C. If my bulbs are running at 45C then what is happening to lifespan of the bulbs and health of my corals?

The image below shows the outside of the fixture registering 111 F which is around 43C. Didn't get a picture of the endcaps because the light from the fixture was blowing out of the image.

The LEDs in the fixture rarely have the fans running and don't seem to be exceeding the temperature thresholds, I guess because they are in the middle of the fixture and away from the bulbs? Note that I run the royal blue LEDs only and only at 35% maximum so there is very little power being driven to the LEDs.

I'm concerned that the heat of the fixture is causing impact to my bulbs, light spectrum and corals.

ATI, is this an issue and what can I do about it? I don't understand why the fixture if getting so hot.

[​IMG]

crabs_mcjones likes this.
    Tags:

2. crabs_mcjones

crabs_mcjones I'm shi-nay! R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

If the fixture has fans, have you cleaned them out lately? If dust has collected the air won't flow as smoothly and can run hotter. Hope this helps :)

3. -Logzor

-Logzor Valuable Member