ATO level indicator

Kraig

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 24, 2021
Messages
179
Reaction score
178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St. Louis
I have a little project in mind but I don’t know how to execute it.

I’d like to put some float switches or something similar in my ATO reservoir that turn on/off led’s installed to show on the outside of my syand to act as an appropriate water level indicator. Maybe 3-4 float switches for full, 3/4, half, 1/4 water level.

i’ve seen a wiring diagram to utilize one float switch to operate an LED, but I’m not sure how to wire several float switches operating their own LED run off of one power supply..

Can anyone point me in the right direction. Im not an electronics guy but I can follow a wiring digram.

Thanks!
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Sean Clark

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
4,049
Reaction score
13,085
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
You could use this Signal light tower with alarm from Amazon and 4 separate 12v power supplies and wire them through float switches with each switch controlling green, yellow, red, and alarm. By using individual power supplies you remove the need to use any kind of logic circuitry.

To ensure only one light is on at a time you would need high and low switches for each zone.

If you have an Apex then you could wire the floats in to a single mini din cable and only need one float switch for each zone and also only use a single power supply.
 

MaddyP

'Til Reefdom Come...
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
1,886
Reaction score
4,491
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Portland, OR
An ultrasonic sensor would give you a more granular reading of water level. I'm using two to monitor levels in sump and display.

What are you planning to interface with your floats to read state? Arduino, Raspberry Pi, Apex?
 

Sean Clark

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
4,049
Reaction score
13,085
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
An ultrasonic sensor would give you a more granular reading of water level. I'm using two to monitor levels in sump and display.

What are you planning to interface with your floats to read state? Arduino, Raspberry Pi, Apex?
True. Ultrasonic would be way better. I had the impression that OP wanted this to be standalone which I why I went with a cheap and full analog method.
 
OP
K

Kraig

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 24, 2021
Messages
179
Reaction score
178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St. Louis
Ive actually just put something together today. Pretty simple 4 float switch system wired to one 5v power supply. I just tested it in a bucket, worked well. I will be Installing it in the ATO this week. I have a video of the test but my iPhone videos don’t seem to load on this site.
 
Last edited:
AS
OP
K

Kraig

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 24, 2021
Messages
179
Reaction score
178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St. Louis
Not really much to show except for the lights on the stand. They aren’t glued in place yet to allow for a testing period. Just 4 float switches wired to a 5v power cube contolling 1 light for each switch. All on the reservoir is full, all off, almost empty. Pretty crude bracket to hold the switches in the reservoir.
 

Attachments

  • B2F04815-0AEA-4E58-BA60-452F95CCE4D3.jpeg
    B2F04815-0AEA-4E58-BA60-452F95CCE4D3.jpeg
    172.5 KB · Views: 18
  • CF08ED68-9722-4FA5-81E4-9BA83884690C.jpeg
    CF08ED68-9722-4FA5-81E4-9BA83884690C.jpeg
    107.2 KB · Views: 12

How much of your saltwater reef tank is automated?

  • Nothing is automated

    Votes: 28 13.0%
  • 25% or so

    Votes: 66 30.7%
  • 50% or so

    Votes: 50 23.3%
  • 75% or so

    Votes: 50 23.3%
  • Close to 100%

    Votes: 21 9.8%
  • Totally Automated (we need proof)

    Votes: 0 0.0%
Top