Battle with Green hair algae

dashnemo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is more than 2 years and started with dry rocks. Since I am new to the hobby, I made a mistake that I didn't cure the dry rock. And I have added 4 fishes only since the beginning .

I don't typically share stories , but yesterday I really cannot wait and feel that I am at a point to either give up or try harder. I decided to the try harder path although what I did may be quite wrong. So I decided to write down and follow many months again to see.

Long story , my tank at one point had 20 corals in addition to the 4 fishes and including SPS. They were all growing , though slow. It's a 50 gallon tank. However, a few months ago, Green hair algae started appearing and they took over the tank.

In the process of battling with them, I tried Vibrant and I tried to do water changes regularly every 1-2 week only.

But it never worked, the situation was worse.

I then added more cleaning up crew. At this point , I have 5 Hermit crabs, 10 turbo snails, 8 bumble bee snails and 1 Urchin. Again, I didn't notice that they help.

I then decided to do a ICP test and the result is quite bad. It shows almost zero nitrate and phosphate, but lots of metal, zinc, copper and aluminum etc.

At this point , I have lost all SPS. I started the ICP test too late. A very sad lesson. All fishes survived though.

These may seem so obvious to most reefers and they don't seem to happen so fast yet very fast. I definitely still cannot accept that this all happened.

I am really afraid of losing this battle and lose even more. I thought about sending the remaining livestock back to the store and stopped.

This week I decided to go try harder.....Will show some pictures...

OP
OP
D

dashnemo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I decided to take a few actions all happened in a week