Battling ich in reef tank.. need advice!

Colbyblake_

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, this is my first time ever creating a thread but here it goes..
So, I’ve been in the hobby for awhile now and have never come across ich (I know, crazy.) Anyways, I DO quarantine every piece of coral and fish that I buy but I guess something went wrong and now I’m dealing with ich.. yay!! :)
Anyways, with all of this being said, there is absolutely no way that I can take every fish out of my 210 gallon tank. It’s just not possible, I have so many rocks that are molded together and corals growing on the glass… it’s just too much for me to do. The only fish showing signs of ich are my Achilles, yellow, and hippo tangs. They are still eating and I’m feeding 3-4 times a day. I’ve mainly been feeding brine and mysis shrimp soaked in selcon and fish oil with metroplex and focus to bind the additives to the food. The white spots on the tangs are bad.. I can count them and they aren’t covering the eyes of fins of the fish.
Lastly, I’m wanting to know what else I need to do.. I’m worried about all my fish but my Achilles especially. Is there a chance he could live with this? I mean don’t get me wrong, i would love to pull them all out and quarantine but I don’t have a tank big enough for that. If I could pull them out, what size quarantine tank do I need to get? I have a 4 inch hippo, 3-4 inch yellow, 4-5 inch Achilles, two clowns, 4 wrasses, and a cleaner shrimp!

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are methods for ich management if you do a search inquiry on here. I would increase vitamin nutrients to the fish, add beneficial bacteria to the tank, treat the tank with reef safe meds, etc... some recommend a UV to target the parasites. I say get a blue streak cleaner wrasse and let him clean your big tangs.

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome! :D