Beginner

bubuchacha

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I am new to salt water tank hobby.
I dissolve the salt water formula for few days while running the filter and after that I put the sand and decoration.

Daily I am dropping beneficial bacteria formula which I brought from the store. I didn't include any Iive rocks or live sand as I don't know to maintain or cure them. I want to build an FO tank for now and upgrade after a year maybe.

Currently I am using 2 filters (one over top and one internal). I am still trying to buy a power head for the built in sump/ filter for my aquarium.

I put a bit of fish food 2 days ago and tested my nitrite and it's on normal level in the scale.

I want to ask when I can add even single or a couple of fish in my tank?

Should I continue adding the beneficial bacteria for few more days before I purchase a fish or what?

Thank you for the help

IMG20200702173953.jpg

Bosreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lots to learn. I would start on YouTube and look up the videos produced by BRS wealth of information on there for starting a tank.

But to answer your question you can add 1 fish when the nitrogen cycle is complete (look up nitrogen cycle) when your tank is free from fish killing ammonia.

Now you don't have any live rock or sand (which i would suggest you buy) so all of your beneficial bacteria will be contained within your filter media. What are you using for sand? Looks like some stuff that might contain silicate which is going to lead to undesirable algae that you will never rid.

Ask questions this is a great community.
Start a build thread as so you can add to it.

Post everything that is running that tank.

Bosreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alright I'm free today so I'm gonna help

Whats your sality at? Do you have a refroctometer your gonna need a way of measuring SG (specific gravity)

Whats the temp of the tank and how are you controlling it?