Best Aquarium to start (money not a big issue)

MissingYuengling

View Badges
Reaction score
I’m new to saltwater aquariums. I have been reading and watching different sources to learn about the different aspects to reefing and I wanted an experienced person’s opinion about tanks. I have wanted to do this for a long time and I am in my mid 40s with not much concern about the cost. I was considering a tank between 50-75 gallons, perhaps a Red Sea Reefer 250 or something comparable. What is everyone’s recommendation for a beginner tank in that range? Is it a big deal to start out with a sump versus just going all in one? Just seeking some advice.

Thanks

Gernader

Reefing is a never-ending addiction...
View Badges
Reaction score
There are many places to get a tank from. The most popular companies seems to be Red Sea and Waterbox. However, I heard Red Sea has been giving bad customer service lately. Not sure about waterbox though.

A sump is definitely much better than AIO. You will have a bigger space with more choices to add the equipment.

MightyMO

"The Algae made me do it!!!"
View Badges
Reaction score
Welcome aboard!!! Red sea tanks are very nice. I personally want me a water box... If I could change my first saltwater tank, I would of had an external sump... So you are thinking smartly about it... Lmk what you end up getting!!!

https://www.omegasea.net/

Calebb8133

View Badges
Reaction score