Best filtration for a 12g nanocube quarantine tank.

glb

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
2,843
Location
Miami
I’ll be setting up my old 12g nanocube as a quarantine tank and wondered about the best filtration options for a tank this size. I know from past experiences that nano skimmers are pretty much useless. I thought about a small refugium (I’ve never run one before). I would do 10% water changes weekly as maintenance. The chambers in the back are pretty small. I’m not wanting a complicated setup because the tank is only for QT. I’d probably keep one fish in it. My DT is LPS/softie only so I don’t need SPS-like levels in the QT (and wonder if a refugium might keep nutrient levels too low). Any help is greatly appreciated!!
 

Ippyroy

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
3,616
Reaction score
20,177
Location
West Yellowstone
A fuge would become an issue if you needed to medicate, plus it can bring in items that you trying to keep out like aiptasia. You should follow KISS as much as possible with QTs.
 
OP
glb

glb

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
2,843
Location
Miami
A fuge would become an issue if you needed to medicate, plus it can bring in items that you trying to keep out like aiptasia. You should follow KISS as much as possible with QTs.
So maybe just water changes?
 

Ippyroy

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
3,616
Reaction score
20,177
Location
West Yellowstone

Ippyroy

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
3,616
Reaction score
20,177
Location
West Yellowstone
You have an AIO. Never mind the HOB filter. Water changes and a seachem ammonia badge might work. Do you use hte caddy in the back? REplace those if something comes up or when you add new animals to the QT.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
glb

glb

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
2,843
Location
Miami
You have an AIO. Never mind the HOB filter. Water changes and a seachem ammonia badge might work. Do you use hte caddy in the back? REplace those if something comes up or when you add new animals to the QT.
Mine is so old it doesn’t have the rack. I didn’t mention before that this will primarily be for quarantining corals, not fish. I’d set up a separate hospital tank if one of my fish got sick.
 
OP
glb

glb

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
2,843
Location
Miami

Do you have a frag tank, frag rack or some other place for coral frags currently?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 100 44.4%
  • No

    Votes: 121 53.8%
  • Other

    Votes: 4 1.8%

Online statistics

Members online
2,361
Guests online
5,756
Total visitors
8,117
https://www.triton.de/en/
Top