Big White Bulge Coming Out Of Clownfishes Side

Ezra Blue

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am new to reefing, and just started my tank in September 2020. I got my first two fish a couple days after the tank was running. They are a Black Ice clownfish pair. They both are really active until about a week ago (month two of them being in the tank) the female started eating less. She does eat but looks like she has a hard time doing it. I then noticed white stringy poop coming out of her? A few days later she won’t leave one side of the tank and there is a red mark on her face with white bumps? This is when I got worried. A day later a big bulge was on her side. I suspected she hit a rock or something but realized it was kind of unluckily. A week later (today) the red mark is completely white, and the bulge got pointy and dark and when I went to look at it again today it looks like a big hole with something inside of it? It looks like the inside of a tan tan when Han Solo cut it open in Star Wars.

Does anyone know what it is and how to treat it? Thank you! Picture below.

2DF767FA-C100-48DF-8E22-E3D99CD3B1B1.jpeg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Sorry, I missed your post last night. That is a very serious lesion due to its location above the body cavity. I don’t think it is from an injury- see how the edges turn outward? That implies an internal infection that reached the skin and broke through. The lesion on the face also looks like a bacterial infection, but more external. To be honest, the prognosis is grave. Do you have a treatment tank you can move it to to treat with antibiotics?
The only marginally good news is that this isn’t likely to be contagious to the other clown.

Jay

OP
OP
E

Ezra Blue

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0