Bio Pellet Reactors, Purple Non Sulphur Bacteria, Protein Skimmers

Gogol_frag

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi y'all,

I want to lower the nitrates in my 1 month old, 170G sumpless reef, which are still consistently showing up as 10-15 ppm. As such, I am getting a bio-pellet reactor. Being a biopellet noob, I have the following questions, and was wondering if y'all have any experience in the matter:
  1. Has anyone tried the following reactor, and have any tips for me - Accel Aquatics FR-100?
  2. Did you try the following pellets, and/or have any tips for me - Dr. Tim's NP Active Pearls?
  3. Do you have any experience in seeding the BioPellets with Purple Non Sulphur Bacteria (which are thought to be food for SPS/LPS like the following product - PNS Pro Bio?
  4. Have any of you run a BioPellet reactor but not actively skimmed off the output? - Since the PNS Pro Bio bacteria can be eaten by corals, I was thinking of not overactively skimking them, and maintain my regular skimming routine (14 hours during a 24 hour day, or 35 minutes per hour)
Also, any general advice about running biopellet reactors will be greatly appreciated. Thank you gals and guys!

Just to complete the picture - the pump that I will be using with the reactor is Jebao DCP Sine Wave 3500, and my skimmer is Deltec MCE 601.

Last edited:

monkeyCmonkeyDo

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmm.
Lets see. Yes ive used those pellets. I liked them and bought several times.
The reactor no.
I looked at it and thought about it but it was too tall i think at 40 some odd inches tall.