Biocube32, protein skimmer and return pump upgrade?

Circa916

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all this is my first post so if I screw something up I apologize in advance. Im fairly new to this hobby, been running freshwater all my life and just recently decided to try my hand at a saltwater tank. Needless to say I have already found out how addicting this whole thing can be lol. Tank has been running for approximately 4 months give or take. I have removed the hood and added an AI Prime Hd, tunze nano ato, 2 hydor circulation pumps and controller (which need to be upgraded) and some random protein skimmer my lfs recommend that is literally the loudest part of my tank and barely produces anything other than some discolored water so I run it only at night for fear my old lady will end up breaking something cause of the noise.
I guess I am looking for recommendations as far as a solid (quiet) protein skimmer and a new return pump seeing as how the stock biocube pump is fairly weak and I want more flow in the tank. Ive tried adjusting the hydor's multiple times and all I seem to do is tick off the corals. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_1488.jpg

Scurvy

Pirate Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Saltwater. It truly is addicting! Looks like you're coming along quite nicely there already!

Which chamber are you looking to put the skimmer in? More options in chamber 2 but you need to modify a little for them to fit.

You cant go wrong with either a Cobalt MJ1200 or Sicce 1.5 for the return. I've run both on my 32 but stuck with the Sicce.

An MP-10 is a great powerhead choice for the 32 whenever you decide to upgrade from the Hydors. Lots of varying flow patterns to choose from.

OP
OP
Circa916

Circa916

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Saltwater. It truly is addicting! Looks like you're coming along quite nicely there already!