Black box over sump

BRS

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3,791
Reaction score
4,130
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
After the addition of a juv emperor he has taste for lps .
especially fleshy ones such as lobo , meat coral , open brains etc .
I’m thinking of moving the 2 remaining open brains to the sump while they’re still in good health but ..

1) the only free compartment houses cheato with a grow lamp .
I have 3 extra Chinese black boxes I could use to provide enough light .

what’s the min distance from the open brain to the black boxes ?
 
REEFTIDE

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
6,572
Reaction score
10,424
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
I know the black boxes I had needed to be mounted 12" over the water for coverage. Any closer will focus the light which isn't a good thing. Might be best to trade them to some local reefers.
 

Jedi1199

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
1,797
Reaction score
4,347
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
After the addition of a juv emperor he has taste for lps .
especially fleshy ones such as lobo , meat coral , open brains etc .
I’m thinking of moving the 2 remaining open brains to the sump while they’re still in good health but ..

1) the only free compartment houses cheato with a grow lamp .
I have 3 extra Chinese black boxes I could use to provide enough light .

what’s the min distance from the open brain to the black boxes ?

What is the wattage of the LED's? I think if they are smaller ones, and you dialed them back as far as you can, you can put them closer. Of course, I am no expert with this. How much clearance do you have to work with?
 

Arego

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
317
Reaction score
320
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Macomb
Just turn them way down in the 10% range. I've done this in a pinch before with great success, as you watch the pieces acclimate you can slowly turn it up if it's even necessary to do so.

The boxes I used were SB Reef when I did this for about 4 months.
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3,791
Reaction score
4,130
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I know the black boxes I had needed to be mounted 12" over the water for coverage. Any closer will focus the light which isn't a good thing. Might be best to trade them to some local reefers.
I got 3 of them them with my latest upgrade .
i personally have never used or liked leds but if they would help save the 2 corals from being eaten I thought I could make them work for now
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3,791
Reaction score
4,130
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
What is the wattage of the LED's? I think if they are smaller ones, and you dialed them back as far as you can, you can put them closer. Of course, I am no expert with this. How much clearance do you have to work with?
Not sure of the wattage . They have 2 dials on each with 2 separate plugs
They are pretty big units .
as for space I’d have to measure from
The top of the sump to the bottom of the dt
I would assume close to 12-14”
The water in the sump being another 4” lower

about 12 water in that section
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3,791
Reaction score
4,130
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
This is the cheato section I was considering converting to house lps

and 2nd picture is from the top of sump to bottom of dt inside the stand
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    197.6 KB · Views: 3
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    147.2 KB · Views: 3

90's reefer

Fight the Good Fight
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
5,840
Reaction score
10,269
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
NorCal
Just mount them as high as you can and start the power of both dials low.
I run an old BB on my 30g remote fuge and it works well at growing macro algae. Their is a coral on one rock that i did not know was their and its growing well.

Im only.running 50% at 12" and its working well.
 

Jedi1199

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
1,797
Reaction score
4,347
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
Well, my friend, you know as well as I do that there is no concrete answer. Necessity is the mother of invention. Honestly all I can offer is remove the offending party or take your chances with what you have.

If it was ME, and I was faced with your issue, I would go for it.. dial the lights back as low as possible and turn the whites off completely.

I don't have any angels in my reef tanks for this exact reason. Almost picked up a small Lemon Peel angel today but backed off because I didn't want to have any more corals become snacks.
 
BRS

Have you ever torn down a tank over an issue you couldn't seem to beat?

  • Yes! I have. (Tell us about what issue you faced in the thread.)

    Votes: 151 24.4%
  • No. Thankfully, I haven't.

    Votes: 319 51.5%
  • Nope, but it almost happened. (Share your experience in the thread.)

    Votes: 45 7.3%
  • Not yet, but I'm almost there. (Tell us what you're dealing with.)

    Votes: 52 8.4%
  • If you reef long enough, this will eventually happen to you.

    Votes: 41 6.6%
  • Other

    Votes: 12 1.9%
BMF signature corals
Top