Bleaching rock - Winter time safety

GalaxyBenny

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all -

I wanted to get some advice on how to best cure some old rock that I just got for a new tank. I'm new to the hobby so I don't want to do anything totally stupid. The rock I got was from a former reefer who had pulled it from his tank >1 year ago and since then it was sitting outside in a trash can, dry. There was definitely some gunk on it though, so reading the forums/watching BRS it looked like bleaching was a great way to go to really speed up the cure. The issue I have is that it's winter time in Wisconsin, so it's freezing temps outside. Ergo, I'm not sure how to proceed.

I have a detached garage that stays warm enough to prevent freezing. So the honest truth is that I dropped the rock in there tonight with 15 gallons of water and 1 gallon of bleach (a little less than the 10:1 ratio I've heard is typical, but it was all the bleach I had). I convinced myself this would be safety enough since it's a detached garage and so we don't generally go in there except to get in the car. If we need to go in the garage during the cure (I've heard 1 week, but would take advice on that) I would put on my full face respirator, open the man door, then open the main garage doors and let it air out for awhile (I guess trying to replicate the ventilation I'd have if I were to put the rock/Brute can outside like I would do if it wasn't freezing temps). After the fresh air had circulated for awhile I'd feel safe enough to at least go in and back out the car.

Once the cure was over I would plan to leave the doors open for awhile, again just to make sure there were several air changes and prevent any issues.