Blue neon goby - internal bleeding/parasite?

Druinz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, I'm pretty new to reefkeeping and the tank I've set up is a 20g tall with 15lb of live rock and a thin layer of sand. The tank has an AC30 along with a 530GPH powerhead. Have a heater and internal skimmer as well.

I noticed two things that concern me:
1. My blue neon goby has reddish marks on it's body. This severely worries me because it looks to be internal bleeding or some kind of parasite but I don't really know anything of marine fish diseases. I've been reading up and it doesn't have the distinct white dots to signify ich so I'm at a loss. In the picture you can see it towards the back.

2. There are weird critters on my glass. They don't look like the normal pods I'm used to so I'm a bit worried. They kinda look like tiny slugs. Pics attached, you can see two in it, with their oddly shaped heads that looks like a concave arrow.

I'm not sure if these two things are related but I feel like it may be important to give a fuller picture.
Thanks for reading

IMG_20190525_152122.jpg
IMG_20190525_152346.jpg

Tumey

Reefer With A Broken Brain ( TBI Survivor )
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m far from knowledgeable with both of your situations you’re concerned with but my best guess based on your pictures is your goby has a bacterial infection & the slugs are actually a type of flatworm. Hold tight & I’m sure one of our members with a broader range of knowledge will chime in shortly.

Tumey ;)

rkpetersen

walked the sand with the crustaceans
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The marks on your goby could be a bacterial infection.
Another possibility is uronema, which typically presents with red marks/sores, although most commonly in chromis, not gobies.
Flukes are almost always a possibility as well.