Brand new and wanting to do a planted tank

minorhero

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello folks!

I have a lot of experience with freshwater planted aquariums but for all intents and purposes, zero experience with saltwater. I was at the Baltimore Aquarium not too long ago and saw a display they had of seahorses in live seagrass. And that completely and totally captivated me. I have been thinking about it and decided that I wanted to replicate that kind of tank. I'm currently on the hunt for the tank itself (darn thing might end up being custom). But in the meantime I have a lot of questions that I would love some help answering.

I know a few things about my upcoming setup which might help in answering the questions. This will probably be a 37 to 45 gallon tank. I will be making a sump for it (likely out of a 20H aqueon). I will have a skimmer, and UV. I don't know what skimmer or uv but they will be nice ones. I will have an overflow with a bean animal setup (likely modular marine but this is not set in stone). I will have a deep sand bed for the plants. Oh and there will be plants. Probably manatee grass, potentially turtle grass as well and definitely red mangroves. I am debating whether to have any macro in the tank, currently leaning towards no. I will probably be running injected co2 and definitely fertilizers - leaning towards pps-pro method from freshwater but this is also not set in stone. And that's about it for the things I know... soo...