Brass bottom treatment

Kendiverdown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good day folks,

I have a question about treating marine ich. Has anyone heard of the brass bottom method? Supposedly there was a study done where they treated ich by laying brass sheet on the bottom of the bare QT tank. According to this article I read.
Reads. That brass is 70% copper 30% zinc (roughly) and kills the ich when they fall off the fish on to the brass. Supposedly this is less stressful on the fish?
Any thoughts? Recommendations?
I am new to the hobby. 90days. I just bought and in the process of setting up hospital tank. Was just wondering if this is worth a shot. Or should I just go with copper treatments which has been proven already?
thank you!

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good day folks,

I have a question about treating marine ich. Has anyone heard of the brass bottom method? Supposedly there was a study done where they treated ich by laying brass sheet on the bottom of the bare QT tank. According to this article I read.
Reads. That brass is 70% copper 30% zinc (roughly) and kills the ich when they fall off the fish on to the brass. Supposedly this is less stressful on the fish?
Any thoughts? Recommendations?
I am new to the hobby. 90days. I just bought and in the process of setting up hospital tank. Was just wondering if this is worth a shot. Or should I just go with copper treatments which has been proven already?
thank you!
It's an interesting study. I have, however, a couple of questions that arise from assumptions made in this study, such as:

Since the protomonts and tomonts attach to the bottoms of the aquaculture tanks,

We know that this isn't the case with all tomonts, which can also attach to aquarium glass, snail shells, or instruments, among other things. The study doesn't appear to have taken that into account.