BREAKING NEWS!!! ALL-NEW HYDRA HD & PRIME HD SERIES lineup: Prime 16HD, Hydra 32HD and Hydra 64HD!

Devaji

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
4,970
Reaction score
4,733
Location
Jackson Hole, WY
Wonder if they'll offer some sort of upgrade like the radions from gen 2 to gen 3 by replacing the led pucks and reflectors. That'd be awesome.

I bet no as they are more water resistant. so it would not only be replacing the cluster and lens but the body as well??

bummer as I just got my 1st prime HD about a month ago. thinking about a return and upgrade just for the better waterproofing.
 

Kfactor

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
425
Reaction score
379
It's funny. Is like cellular phones.There is a new model and everybody runs to get the new model when you just need to light your corals! Is the old model not working for you? My Hydras 26HD are great. Why I have to change? Nonsense....Save your money for water changes!
I wouldn’t have but I got my old ones sold so the cost wasn’t to bad
 

leevh

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
These can be run together with the previous generation lights right? I have a 26HD now and wanted to add a second, but if I can add a 32HD with it I'll just do that.
 

signal_4

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
8
It's funny. Is like cellular phones.There is a new model and everybody runs to get the new model when you just need to light your corals! Is the old model not working for you? My Hydras 26HD are great. Why I have to change? Nonsense....Save your money for water changes!

But I use free NSW out of the canal off my back deck
 

Porpoise Hork

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
809
Reaction score
733
Location
Houston
These can be run together with the previous generation lights right? I have a 26HD now and wanted to add a second, but if I can add a 32HD with it I'll just do that.


Due to the different number of LED's and power level capabilities you would likely have to run the 26's as one set of parent/child, and the 32's as a second of parent/child lights. Even if you used the same schedule settings there would be differences in the spectrum and PAR with them. So there may be some issues with color matching multiple lights together.
 

Justin Aretz

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
108
Reaction score
107
Due to the different number of LED's and power level capabilities you would likely have to run the 26's as one set of parent/child, and the 32's as a second of parent/child lights. Even if you used the same schedule settings there would be differences in the spectrum and PAR with them. So there may be some issues with color matching multiple lights together.

definitely. My original primes really limited the HDs I added. By about 50+ par
 

ReefGoddesss

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
61
Reaction score
53
Location
North Carolina
After much thought, I decided to go with another Hydra 26HD instead of the new Hydra 32HD. First of all, I was in the market for another Hydra to complete my reef build. Secondly, after speaking with the manufacturer today—they clearly answered my questions. It is true if I add the new Hydra 32HD to my existing system, I will need to program it separately from my programmed Hydra 26HD currently on my system. I was also told the Hydra 32HD will possibly be slightly off in regards to the actual lighting spectrum from my Hydra 26HD lighting. I didn’t want to risk the chance, as I am pretty picky when it comes to my system matching visually and physically. Also, the moonlight‘s led included on the new Hydra 32HD is white in color. I was hoping for a blue-ish tint. So, after much debate, I didn’t think the extra $$$ for the new Hydra 32HD was worth it for my addition in comparison to the Hydra 26HDs reduced price as you can get a sweet deal on a brand new Hydra 26HD while supplies last. They are averaging anywhere from $70-100 off depending upon if taxes will be collected or not.
 

Hamada

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
173
Reaction score
163
Location
SF Bay Area
Will there be any kind of upgrade program? I run 3 HD 52’s and would think about the 62’s if there is type of program in place for loyal customers. Even though I’ve had more then one bad experience with your customer service....
Explain please
 

MERKEY

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 5, 2019
Messages
5,365
Reaction score
22,212
Location
Washington
Got my 32 running next to a 26 and xr30 pro g4 and the 32s look sadly dull even ran over 100%

I also dont like the bluetooth only option. Perhaps I'm missing where you can change to wifi.

Either way the 32 will most likely be sold :(
 

MERKEY

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 5, 2019
Messages
5,365
Reaction score
22,212
Location
Washington
Well the xr30 probably isn't a good comparison because it's a lot more powerful...but do you have any pics of them all side by side?
Aren't on yet but when the schedule starts I will ;)

And yes sorry wasn't trying to compare the pro to the 32 it's just hard sitting next to them in person lol
 

PhilT

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
229
Reaction score
81
I contacted BRS yesterday about the improved spread, and the overall difference, and they informed me that they will be putting something out soon. The spread does increase to 30x30, vs 24x24.
Is that for the 32? BRS specs for the 16 says 24” spread but doesn’t say for the 32.

would one 32 be ok for a 36x18 65g tank? Not going to be coral extensive (no sps). The AI rep at reefapalooza suggested 2 16s but I rather use the multilight mount and the 16s won’t work on that. Also I already have a lid on order with no mount cut outs. And the multilight doesn’t need any cut outs since it basically clamps on the outside like a maxspect fixture.
 

w00dman

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
9
Reaction score
2

Am I the only one complaining about the 32’s????

With the acclimation mode on, today my schedule is at 75% of the total power and the fan is constantly on at full power. I can’t watch TV without that f*** noise.

About WiFi? I think that’s available because you see ipv6 on settings but how could we connect through WiFi?

I’ve already contacted AI support and they didn’t answer. They just said that they were temperature controlled.
 

Nicko

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
26
Location
Sydney

Am I the only one complaining about the 32’s????

With the acclimation mode on, today my schedule is at 75% of the total power and the fan is constantly on at full power. I can’t watch TV without that f*** noise.

About WiFi? I think that’s available because you see ipv6 on settings but how could we connect through WiFi?

I’ve already contacted AI support and they didn’t answer. They just said that they were temperature controlled.
Not seeing others complaining. Maybe you have a faulty unit or needs a firmware update?
 

What types of R2R interview articles are you most excited about?

  • Specific reef topics! (List the ones you'd like to see us cover in the thread.)

    Votes: 65 38.7%
  • Specific reef personalities! (List the people you'd like us to interview in the thread.)

    Votes: 10 6.0%
  • Not that concerned about the topics...I just wanna see the awesome PICTURES!

    Votes: 32 19.0%
  • All of the above!! ...and yes, I'll list some in the thread. :-)

    Votes: 61 36.3%

Online statistics

Members online
2,487
Guests online
7,214
Total visitors
9,701
LA
Top