Brown Algae?

BRS

DrummerWithFish111

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2022
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Akron
See attached a picture of my tank, but with a horrible brown algae outbreak. First sign was about ten days ago, tank has been set up for a little under two months.
Should I just leave it and let my tank get overgrown, or should I remove it/get a clean up crew to eat it? Want to get into growing coral, but I will wait until this is over.

13 Gallon Aquatop AIO
Temp. 78 Degrees F Salinity: 35 PPT
Ammonia: 0 Nitrite: 0 pH: 7.8-8.0 Nitrate: <10
Stock: One fancy clownfish 10-12 pounds live rock, 10 pounds live sand

diatoms.jpg
 
Never Wash Another Nasty Filter Sock Again!

Peace River

Thrive Master
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
17,364
Reaction score
133,531
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Central Florida, USA
At a glance, that appears to be diatoms which is a normal part of a new aquarium and the way that of processing excess silicates. I encourage you to do an R2R search on diatoms to confirm that is matches with what you are seeing in your tank as well as the related reason and cycle. Many people let diatoms run its course in a new tank, but you will also find treatments if you choose to take that route. Good luck!
 
OP
DrummerWithFish111

DrummerWithFish111

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2022
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Akron
At a glance, that appears to be diatoms which is a normal part of a new aquarium and the way that of processing excess silicates. I encourage you to do an R2R search on diatoms to confirm that is matches with what you are seeing in your tank as well as the related reason and cycle. Many people let diatoms run its course in a new tank, but you will also find treatments if you choose to take that route. Good luck!
Aye aye cap'n. Thank you!
 

karamreef117

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
101
Reaction score
57
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I also think this is diatoms. some things to keep in mind if it continues. What lights are you using? are they the appropriate lights? where are you getting your freshwater from?

but for now, you are good it is a natural part of the cycle. Clean up crew can be added if you want as they eat this stuff and its always a good sign. I would recommend turning the lights off completely for the next week or two.

You got this the tank looks amazing!!
 
OP
DrummerWithFish111

DrummerWithFish111

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2022
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Akron
I also think this is diatoms. some things to keep in mind if it continues. What lights are you using? are they the appropriate lights? where are you getting your freshwater from?

but for now, you are good it is a natural part of the cycle. Clean up crew can be added if you want as they eat this stuff and its always a good sign. I would recommend turning the lights off completely for the next week or two.

You got this the tank looks amazing!!
This is the light I have on the way, link at the bottom of the comment. Right now I have the light that came with my AIO setup, and it is pretty awesome (aquatop skyaqua mini). My water is maybe with an RO/DI unit and instant ocean reef crystals salt.
I'll leave my light off for a little bit, and I can't get to my LFS for about a week anyways, so I will probably update this thread in time and see where the diatoms are at. Thanks!

 
Atlantik icon reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
DrummerWithFish111

DrummerWithFish111

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2022
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Akron
I’d say it’s a good time to start building your cuc. Start with hardy guys like hermits and an emerald crab.
Nassarius snails and a pistol shrimp are great for keeping the sandbed neat.
Right on! Do you know exactly how much of what I should put in? Currently only has one clown, but I'd like to put another in as well since I started out with two.
 

karamreef117

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
101
Reaction score
57
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
This is the light I have on the way, link at the bottom of the comment. Right now I have the light that came with my AIO setup, and it is pretty awesome (aquatop skyaqua mini). My water is maybe with an RO/DI unit and instant ocean reef crystals salt.
I'll leave my light off for a little bit, and I can't get to my LFS for about a week anyways, so I will probably update this thread in time and see where the diatoms are at. Thanks!

Seems like you are on the right track my friend. keep us posted and we will go from there.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
BRS

Did you start off in the reef hobby buying used equipment? Do you still use pre-owned equipment? (Choose all that apply)

  • Yes, I did start off with some used equipment. It made getting everything going easier!

    Votes: 137 39.9%
  • Yes, I did start off with some used equipment, but it was a mistake I won't make again.

    Votes: 18 5.2%
  • I still buy used equipment! It's a helpful way to save money in this hobby!

    Votes: 106 30.9%
  • Nope! Everything I used to get started was new! And I'm glad I started with all new stuff!

    Votes: 84 24.5%
  • Nope! Everything I used to get started was new! But, I should've looked around for used options!

    Votes: 35 10.2%
  • I still only buy new equipment! Lots of problems avoided that way!

    Votes: 45 13.1%
  • Other... (Post in the thread)

    Votes: 13 3.8%
Waterbox Aquariums: The Finest Aquariums
Top