Bubble anemone

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
Hello, im new to the saltwater aquariums. I have a 39 saltwater tank. That's been setup about 6 or 7 months now. 3 days ago i got a green bubble anemone. For my clownfish. The clownfish was hosting my heater lol. Now im worried about my anemone. It looks like its stressing. My iron its 0, copper its 0.5,nitrate its 0, nitrite its 0, ph, 7.6 . Can you help me what my anemone is stressing or sick. My clownfish hasn't hosting it yet first pic was yesterday and the second one is todays.

20210915_154052.jpg
20210916_151854.jpg
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

LxHowler

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
298
Reaction score
247
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Midlands, England
Your pH might be a little bit low, maybe worth raising it to around 8. What salinity is the tank at?

What light does it have on it. Its possible that what you are seeing is just the stress of moving from the stores tank to your home tank. Has it been moving around much?

Nems can be picky and sometimes do just close up for no reason. Mine sometimes appears unhappy and then a few days later comes out like noting was wrong.
 
OP
Saltygal2.0

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
Your pH might be a little bit low, maybe worth raising it to around 8. What salinity is the tank at?

What light does it have on it. Its possible that what you are seeing is just the stress of moving from the stores tank to your home tank. Has it been moving around much?

Nems can be picky and sometimes do just close up for no reason. Mine sometimes appears unhappy and then a few days later comes out like noting was wrong.
My saltwater is 1.026 to 1.025. I got the anemone 3 days go. I got the live rock with it. It hasnt left that rock yet. I have the lights that came with my tank.
 
Avast

LxHowler

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
298
Reaction score
247
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Midlands, England
My saltwater is 1.026 to 1.025. I got the anemone 3 days go. I got the live rock with it. It hasnt left that rock yet. I have the lights that came with my tank.
What tank do you have for the lighting? If it hasn't moved its possible it likes it there.
Do you have any other coral in there, are they all okay.
Do you have results for other parameters? Alk, calcium and Magnesium
 
OP
Saltygal2.0

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
What tank do you have for the lighting? If it hasn't moved its possible it likes it there.
Do you have any other coral in there, are they all okay.
Do you have results for other parameters? Alk, calcium and Magnesium
I have no coral , my alk its 40,my general harness caco3,250 i don't know how to text for calcium or magnesium. My tank its a 39. And it has LD lights.
 
Fritz
OP
Saltygal2.0

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
More feeding or if you have a algae problem get rid of it. The algae is probably eating up all the nutrients in the tank. I had no nitrates and phosphates for 2 months due to GHA.
I have brown algea all over my glass. But i also have snails to clean it up. I will do more feedings.
 

LxHowler

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
298
Reaction score
247
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Midlands, England
I have no coral , my alk its 40,my general harness caco3,250 i don't know how to text for calcium or magnesium. My tank its a 39. And it has LD lights.
What test kit are you using for alk? And how does it measure to get a result of 40.you test for calcium and Magnesium with a test kit for them parameters.
Do you have a brand for the tank, I'm trying to find the light that will have come with the tank to see if that could possibly be an issue. Is it 39 liters or 39 gallons
 
OP
Saltygal2.0

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
What test kit are you using for alk? And how does it measure to get a result of 40.you test for calcium and Magnesium with a test kit for them parameters.
Do you have a brand for the tank, I'm trying to find the light that will have come with the tank to see if that could possibly be an issue. Is it 39 liters or 39 gallons
I use a stick that i just dip in. I have

Top Fin Bowfront Aquarium​

Remember you need to treat the BTA as a SPS coral.
I use a stick that i dip in the tank. I have a Top fin Bowfront Aquarium . Ive been looking at lights. But im scared that my clownfish will jump out of the tank.
 

LxHowler

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
298
Reaction score
247
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Midlands, England
I use a stick that i just dip in. I have

Top Fin Bowfront Aquarium​


I use a stick that i dip in the tank. I have a Top fin Bowfront Aquarium . Ive been looking at lights. But im scared that my clownfish will jump out of the tank.
Is that the ones petsmart sell. I'm struggling to find a marine version, if its the standard version then I doubt that the light will be able to support an anemone as it will be designed for a freshwater tank and has a different light spectrum.
What test strips are you using? There's only a couple that actually work in marine, I think api and one other are the only ones.
 
Avast
OP
Saltygal2.0

Saltygal2.0

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
8
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
30206
Is that the ones petsmart sell. I'm struggling to find a marine version, if its the standard version then I doubt that the light will be able to support an anemone as it will be designed for a freshwater tank and has a different light spectrum.
What test strips are you using? There's only a couple that actually work in marine, I think api and one other are the only ones.

Is that the ones petsmart sell. I'm struggling to find a marine version, if its the standard version then I doubt that the light will be able to support an anemone as it will be designed for a freshwater tank and has a different light spectrum.
What test strips are you using? There's only a couple that actually work in marine, I think api and one other are the only ones.
So i need to upgrade my lights? What kinda of lights can i use? Thank you for helping me.
 

LxHowler

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
298
Reaction score
247
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Midlands, England
So i need to upgrade my lights? What kinda of lights can i use? Thank you for helping me.
Agree with danroo. Ai primes are great I use them in both of my tanks. I've also seen them kept under kessils, a slightly cheaper but still good option.
I've also kept one under a black box light when my ai broke and I couldn't get another one as they where out of stock everywhere. They're okay for a lower budget but they don't last long
 
BRS
Kessil
Top