Budget LED Bar Lighting for Softies and LPS

nickynack338

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
TLDR; What is an LED light bar that measures =<4.5'' in width and ~29'' in length that can support low/medium light corals in a 29gal Aqueon tank.

Hi everyone! I'm new to the hobby and new to the forum, though I have read hundreds of R2R threads in the past month and a half. I'm currently trying to set up by 29gal Aqueon tank with affordable LED lighting. I have a specific hood that has a single glass panel that's about 29''x4.5'' Link. I understand this hood greatly limits the kinds of LED lights we can use on our tank, but we cannot use an open top or a mesh top because of curious cats in the household. Also, the other glass lid options are just not good looking to us. Also, we unfortunately purchased a Fluval Aquasky (I know, a mistake) before realizing it's not capable of supporting any corals.

Would the Aquasky, paired with a Fluval Marine 3.0 be enough for medium to low light corals? (They both might be able to fit over the glass panel) We hope to grow softies and some LPS. If not, what are some LED lighting options that would be adequate and can sit directly on top of the hood within the space (about 4.5''x29'')?

I've done a lot of research and have come across the Current Orbit and other lights, but those also don't seem to have the PAR values needed for low/medium light. I'm hoping you reef-pros might have some options up your sleeve I have encountered yet. Thanks for your help in advance!

slojim

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0