Budget lighting options for a Evo 13.5

baldislife

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I am new to reefing and I have had a Evo 13.5 set up for a couple months. Very simple and everything stock; two clowns, fox coral, mushroom colony and some two Duncan. The stock light seems to be going bad as it's losing color and washed out for some reason. Not sure it's repairable so I am looking to purchase a new LED light. What is the best budget light? I am looking at the one listed below as it seems to be popular online or possibly the fluval nano. The AI prime is just out of my price range. I would remove the lid as well to make room for the gooseneck. Is that advisable with two clowns? I like the topless look. TIA
FB189672-538D-4F21-942A-7AD800A50B88.jpeg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This light is the best I've seen for the money. Ive had it running only blues on a fluval flex. The only knock on it I can think of is its not the easiest to program, no app or anything. But it's 100w, will grow any coral in that sized tank, has 5 channels and all the day cycle options You'll need.

Screenshot_20230321_231853_Brave.jpg

olonmv

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the noopsyche K7 mini has been getting rave reviews. I run an Ai prime 16hd on my 13.5 but would have totally tried the noopsyche had it been available.

Subliminal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with Olonmv. I put an AI prime on my 13.5, but only because I got the light and the arm for $175 on Facebook marketplace. I was planning on getting the Noopsyche K7 Mini before I found that light.

But you have many options:

1. Fluval Marine LED bar is recommended by some. It's a lot like the stock light, but programmable, and retains the stock hood.