Calcium Reactor in conjunction with kalk dosing - What to do?!?

reefinusa

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi - new to the forum. Thanks in advance for any advice given.

First, let me start off by saying that I'm not new to saltwater tanks, but I am new to SPS. Also, I should specify that I really enjoy the tech aspects of the hobby, so I'm a bit of a equipment junkie.

My Tank:
75 Gallon Bowfront tank.
- 2 clowns, Blue Tang, Yellow Tang, 2 Firefish, 1 bluestrike (name) cleaning wrasse, solid cuc, emerald crab, watermelon anemone
- brain coral, frogspawn coral, about 8 monti frags and 6 acro frags
30 gallon sump with refugium (chaeto growing nicely)
Carbon/GFO reactor hooked up (for the time being. I might remove this and just rely on refug)
Dual Chamber Calcium Reactor
Apex Controllers

Parameters (monitored daily for the past several weeks - since I introduced the calcium reactor)
Alk: 10.5 dkH
Calcium: 450
Mag: 1350
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
Phosphate: 0
PH: 7.8-8

I understand that PH isn't something to chase, but again, part of the appeal is the challenge of getting the numbers that I want - to create what I consider to be the perfect water/environment for my tank. That said, I'd like to get my PH higher. I added plants - that didn't help. I opened the windows and that helps it get back up to a 7.9-8.1 range instead of the 7.8-8 range. Also, it should be known that I live in MT and opening the windows in the winter isn't an option (i did it this time as a test).