Can I add coral yet, and what kinds?

Kehy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've got no saltwater experience and a 2 gallon cube. Bad idea? Yup. Still doing it? Absolutely.

I've actually got the tank set up and cycled right now, but now I'm rethinking what corals I want. Originally I was just going to do just softies, but looking at the size of the tank, I don't think that's going to be practical. This is an 8" cube, full of rock. There's not much growing space, especially if something decides to grow fast. So now I'm considering some LPS as well.

What I'm considering altogether:
-Duncan?
-Acan / micromussa
- Blastomussa
- candy cane
- zoa garden
- green star polyps?

As far as I can tell, everything looks good. No more diatoms, now I'm getting red encrusting algae, but not huge amounts of it.
0 Ammonia
0 Nitrites
.25 Phosphates or less
Only thing that worries me is- Nitrates, which were at 20 after a 50% water change.

Being that I am impatient and impulsive as they come, can I go to my LFS and get something? Pleeeeease?

Phil D.

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greens Stars will take over tank, Duncan is ok, but.....you didn't say what kind of lighting. Plus, with no skimmer,(good luck you won't find one for that size), you will have to do water changes every other day.

KHunter0622

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll be fine without a skimmer. Do a 25% water change once a week. Top off with fresh as needed. Stop using the test kit you’ll drive yourself nuts and micromanage to disaster. Using a good salt and 25% water change once a week will keep everything where it needs to be. The tank will start to take care of itself as live rock and sand start to establish. If you’ve done fresh side think along the lines a of fully planted tank with no filter just water movement and you’ll have a blast. Go get your corals and some clean up crew and have fun!

OP
OP
K

Kehy

View Badges
Reaction score