Can I plumb an UV sterilizer in the sump?

JustinMN18

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Following because I’d like to know to. I’m no plumbing expert at all. I myself am in the middle of my build and I planned on running dual returns, but running a smaller 3rd pump in the sump that feeds the uv and then coming out of the uv gets plumbed back down into the sump. That was what I was thinking to do. But again I’m no expert and would like to hear others opinions
Can you tell me where to place the feed pump for the UV, and where you put the output tube? Same chamber for in and out, or pump in skimmer and output in return?

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I’m thinking of getting an 8w Aqua uv sterilizer for my 40g with a 20g sump. I want to use it for algae control (nutrients are fine but I always have bubble algae and get cyano sometimes and feel it would help keep the tank cleaner). I know the water flow through the unit is faster for algae than using it for organisms like ich. My questions are about how to plumb it. My return pump is only c. 250gph. To use this unit for algae control, I’d need a pump that runs over 400gph. I’d like to plumb the whole unit in the sump but BRS videos say not to run it like that. I can’t think of how to plumb a pump that powerful in the sump without disrupting the flow through the sump. Has anyone been able to plumb the whole thing in the sump? If that’s a bad idea, what would be the best way to run the uv sterilizer? I just can’t think of how I could plumb it to and from the display tank. I’m pretty good with plumbing (DIY’ed my whole system!), but this has me stumped. Any help is greatly appreciated!
My unit is in the sump

Projects with Sam

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0