Can you run ozone without a skimmer?

lubeck

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
520
Reaction score
353
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
U.S.A
does anyone have a good article on ozone? Want to do some research. Also, is it possible to run ozone without a skimmer? I don’t have one and don’t plan to.
 
BRS

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
64,097
Reaction score
139,198
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida before Fall
does anyone have a good article on ozone? Want to do some research. Also, is it possible to run ozone without a skimmer? I don’t have one and don’t plan to.
Yes you can run an ozonizer unit. Skimmers however assist with waste removal and ph
 

gbroadbridge

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
1,563
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sydney, Australia
does anyone have a good article on ozone? Want to do some research. Also, is it possible to run ozone without a skimmer? I don’t have one and don’t plan to.
The output of your ozone generator is attached to the skimmer air input. This allows the ozone to interract with the water in the skimmer chamber.

As an alternative you can use a custom built ozone reactor which mixes the water and ozone for as long as possible.

After the ozone reactor you need to remove the ozone and any resulting waste products from the water and for that the water is run through an activated carbon bed.

There are a series of articles you can read.

 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 5, 2014
Messages
52,774
Reaction score
45,221
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
does anyone have a good article on ozone? Want to do some research. Also, is it possible to run ozone without a skimmer? I don’t have one and don’t plan to.

Of course you can. I don't consider a skimmer the best option anyway. In the articles linked above I show using both a commercial reactor (probably no longer available) and a DIY reactor.

Ozone and the Reef Aquarium, Part 1: Chemistry and Biochemistry by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

Ozone and the Reef Aquarium, Part 2: Equipment and Safety by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

Ozone and the Reef Aquarium, Part 3: Changes in a Reef Aquarium upon Initiating Ozone by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com
 

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
9,793
Reaction score
42,400
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Hurricane, WV
I have been running ozone a few years now. After you finish doing your research you will be missing a critical piece of the puzzle.
Ozone changes the surface tension of the contents inside the reactor. I inject ozone into a large Lifereef skimmer. At times the thing looks like its got freshwater inside it. It rarely skims.
So you can inject ozone into system water with a skimmer. If you run the ozone more than a few hours a day you will need another skimmer to skim.
So after taking my SRO-5000 out thinking I was doing an upgrade, I put it back in.
This is why I run 2 skimmers you see in the pics of my sump.

If you don't I suppose you will get some of the doom scenarios that appear because you are not removing the products of the reaction of the ozone with the tank junk. Your tank will get very dirty with nasty grey stuff.
 
Last edited:
AquaCave Logo Banner

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
64,097
Reaction score
139,198
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida before Fall
Thanks. I need to read up a lot more. Any good threads? What does ozone do to ph
When I ran an ozonizer, the brand was zoo Med but corallife was another one on the market
 

gbroadbridge

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
1,563
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sydney, Australia
I have been running ozone a few years now. After you finish doing your research you will be missing a critical piece of the puzzle.
Ozone changes the surface tension of the contents inside the reactor. I inject ozone into a large Lifereef skimmer. At times the thing looks like its got freshwater inside it. It rarely skims.
So you can inject ozone into system water with a skimmer. If you run the ozone more than a few hours a day you will need another skimmer to skim.
So after taking my SRO-5000 out thinking I was doing an upgrade, I put it back in.
This is why I run 2 skimmers you see in the pics of my sump.

If you don't I suppose you will get some of the doom scenarios that appear because you are not removing the products of the reaction of the ozone with the tank junk. Your tank will get very dirty with nasty grey stuff.
I think that would depend how often you are running the Ozone Generator.

Mine is controlled based on an ORP reading, and is only enabled to run at night between 11pm and 6am.

It only runs for about 60 minutes a day, so the rest of the time the skimmer is skimming

The tank just really doesn't ask for more than that.
 
OP
lubeck

lubeck

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
520
Reaction score
353
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
U.S.A
The output of your ozone generator is attached to the skimmer air input. This allows the ozone to interract with the water in the skimmer chamber.

As an alternative you can use a custom built ozone reactor which mixes the water and ozone for as long as possible.

After the ozone reactor you need to remove the ozone and any resulting waste products from the water and for that the water is run through an activated carbon bed.

There are a series of articles you can read.

thank you! This article is exactly what I was looking for. I’m only half way through it
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
9,793
Reaction score
42,400
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Hurricane, WV
I have been mucking around in the tank stirring up dirt this morning. My ORP has gone down and the controller is adding ozone
My Reef Octo skimmer is pulling the dirt out.
IMG_4647-M.jpg


The skimmer with ozone isn't foaming at all.
IMG_4645-M.jpg
 
OP
lubeck

lubeck

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
520
Reaction score
353
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
U.S.A
I have been mucking around in the tank stirring up dirt this morning. My ORP has gone down and the controller is adding ozone
My Reef Octo skimmer is pulling the dirt out.
IMG_4647-M.jpg


The skimmer with ozone isn't foaming at all.
IMG_4645-M.jpg
I think I will have a problem with export if I run ozone without a skimmer

im assuming filter floss will not be adequate to remove the waste. Also not sure if I can afford to have my ph lowered. It’s already on the low end 7.9 at night.
 
OP
lubeck

lubeck

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
520
Reaction score
353
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
U.S.A
Thanks. This is going to keep me busy. Appreciate the resources.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

What are all the ways you "filter" your reef aquarium?

  • Chemical Filter Media

    Votes: 154 47.8%
  • Skimmer

    Votes: 266 82.6%
  • Natural Methods (rock, sand etc)

    Votes: 277 86.0%
  • Algae Scrubber/Reactor

    Votes: 45 14.0%
  • Rollermats

    Votes: 53 16.5%
  • Filter Socks/Pads

    Votes: 179 55.6%
  • UV Sterilizer

    Votes: 101 31.4%
  • HOB or Canister

    Votes: 45 14.0%
  • Ozone Generator

    Votes: 14 4.3%
  • Coral

    Votes: 157 48.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 5 1.6%
  • Refugium

    Votes: 121 37.6%
  • Water Changes

    Votes: 221 68.6%
Vivid
Top