Cant get rid of ammonia

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
131
Reaction score
96
I have a ammonia problem and can't get rid of it. I've tried everything and searched my tank for dead snails. Ive even cut back on feeding and still can't get rid of it. I have a 13g fluval all in one feed tank and I'm worried about my coral. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 

Bbfishb81

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 5, 2019
Messages
229
Reaction score
349
I had the same problem with a 10 gal I had. I did weekly water changes but to no help. Started using algone and worked like. a charm until I upgraded to 32 gal. Not sure what would work best for you, but all the best.
 
https://www.omegasea.net/

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
9,591
Reaction score
7,385
Location
tejas
its almost never an accurate reading, lets see a tank pic. Ill bet 99% not any ammonia and you have a classic misread from api or red sea, but never, ever seneye.

tank pics = we can discern if you have free ammonia, no tester needed. Open corals, no ammonia. simple.
 

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,116
Reaction score
4,525
Location
Northern KY
I use API test kit for ammonia. And what do you mean prime? I still dose my tank with bacteria
The last time I used that test kit, a long time ago), I could never get to zero either. My tank was zero but the kit showed some to my eyes.
 
World Wide Corals - Quality Aqua-cultured Coral
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
131
Reaction score
96
My coral seem to be happy except my trumpet coral has shriveled up a lot and doesnt open as much. I posted some pics for y'all to see
 

ChelseaBidwell

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
146
Reaction score
261
My ammonia is at 1.0. And the prime is reef safe?
We used the API in our 10g QT tanks when we first started the hobby. We kept getting readings between 0.50ppm & 1.0ppm. We ended up taking a sample to our LFS (who used the Red Sea test kit) and it was actually 0ppm. We did this 3 or 4 times because we were getting ammonia every single time we tested with API. Even when we started the tank over with zero livestock. Needless to say, we stopped using API and have been using the Red Sea Foundation Pro test kit. We've gotten pretty spot on results since. Just my 2 cents. My advice, trash the API kit and bite the bullet and get something like Salifert/Red Sea/Hanna Checker.
 
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
131
Reaction score
96
you have no free ammonia its a full misread

those whiskers are from a lysmata shrimp, the most sensitive animal to free ammonia. plus, all the corals are open, you dont need any prime.
Yea thats another thang that had me stumped because my shrimp is doing great. Even molds almost weekly
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
9,591
Reaction score
7,385
Location
tejas
I wouldn't say the tests are unable to indicate a change in ammonia, but we've learned nowadays that the enduring condition is what matters, and they don't do well at indicating whether or not free ammonia is hanging around. a misread, maybe one dead snail could cause a spike, but somehow they don't come back down on those kind of testers/not sure why. but there is no emergency and no purchases are needed to sustain the tank. we can trust the environmentally observable conditions to backup free ammnonia tester claims.
 
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
131
Reaction score
96
Thanks everyone for the advice. You all was very helpful. I'll get rid of the API TEST kit. And while I'm on here my calcium is at 498 which is way higher than needed. Is that ok? I've been told that it was fine it just means that there is plenty of calcium in the system
 

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,116
Reaction score
4,525
Location
Northern KY
Thanks everyone for the advice. You all was very helpful. I'll get rid of the API TEST kit. And while I'm on here my calcium is at 498 which is way higher than needed. Is that ok? I've been told that it was fine it just means that there is plenty of calcium in the system
Agree. Calcium level is fine.
 

How important are having the right snails in your reef?

  • VERY Important

    Votes: 202 43.1%
  • Important

    Votes: 192 40.9%
  • Not So Important

    Votes: 45 9.6%
  • I don't have snails

    Votes: 26 5.5%
  • Other

    Votes: 4 0.9%

Online statistics

Members online
2,299
Guests online
5,021
Total visitors
7,320
Coral Euphoria | Choice Aquacultured SPS
Top