Cant get rid of ammonia

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
104
I have a ammonia problem and can't get rid of it. I've tried everything and searched my tank for dead snails. Ive even cut back on feeding and still can't get rid of it. I have a 13g fluval all in one feed tank and I'm worried about my coral. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 
Mega Meltdown After Sale

Bbfishb81

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 5, 2019
Messages
293
Reaction score
484
I had the same problem with a 10 gal I had. I did weekly water changes but to no help. Started using algone and worked like. a charm until I upgraded to 32 gal. Not sure what would work best for you, but all the best.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
12,498
Reaction score
9,950
Location
tejas
its almost never an accurate reading, lets see a tank pic. Ill bet 99% not any ammonia and you have a classic misread from api or red sea, but never, ever seneye.

tank pics = we can discern if you have free ammonia, no tester needed. Open corals, no ammonia. simple.
 

Malifry97

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
2,017
Reaction score
1,990
Location
Duncannon,PA
I use API test kit for ammonia. And what do you mean prime? I still dose my tank with bacteria
What is ammonia reading? If 0.25 most of the time when an API test kit reads 0.25 it’s false and is actually 0. Also Seachem Prime detoxes ammonia.
 

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,877
Reaction score
6,749
Location
Northern KY
I use API test kit for ammonia. And what do you mean prime? I still dose my tank with bacteria
The last time I used that test kit, a long time ago), I could never get to zero either. My tank was zero but the kit showed some to my eyes.
 
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
104
What is ammonia reading? If 0.25 most of the time when an API test kit reads 0.25 it’s false and is actually 0. Also Seachem Prime detoxes ammonia.
My ammonia is at 1.0. And the prime is reef safe?
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
104
My coral seem to be happy except my trumpet coral has shriveled up a lot and doesnt open as much. I posted some pics for y'all to see
 

ChelseaBidwell

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
192
Reaction score
402
My ammonia is at 1.0. And the prime is reef safe?
We used the API in our 10g QT tanks when we first started the hobby. We kept getting readings between 0.50ppm & 1.0ppm. We ended up taking a sample to our LFS (who used the Red Sea test kit) and it was actually 0ppm. We did this 3 or 4 times because we were getting ammonia every single time we tested with API. Even when we started the tank over with zero livestock. Needless to say, we stopped using API and have been using the Red Sea Foundation Pro test kit. We've gotten pretty spot on results since. Just my 2 cents. My advice, trash the API kit and bite the bullet and get something like Salifert/Red Sea/Hanna Checker.
 
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
104
you have no free ammonia its a full misread

those whiskers are from a lysmata shrimp, the most sensitive animal to free ammonia. plus, all the corals are open, you dont need any prime.
Yea thats another thang that had me stumped because my shrimp is doing great. Even molds almost weekly
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
12,498
Reaction score
9,950
Location
tejas
I wouldn't say the tests are unable to indicate a change in ammonia, but we've learned nowadays that the enduring condition is what matters, and they don't do well at indicating whether or not free ammonia is hanging around. a misread, maybe one dead snail could cause a spike, but somehow they don't come back down on those kind of testers/not sure why. but there is no emergency and no purchases are needed to sustain the tank. we can trust the environmentally observable conditions to backup free ammnonia tester claims.
 
OP
Redneck19261

Redneck19261

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
104
Thanks everyone for the advice. You all was very helpful. I'll get rid of the API TEST kit. And while I'm on here my calcium is at 498 which is way higher than needed. Is that ok? I've been told that it was fine it just means that there is plenty of calcium in the system
 

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,877
Reaction score
6,749
Location
Northern KY
Thanks everyone for the advice. You all was very helpful. I'll get rid of the API TEST kit. And while I'm on here my calcium is at 498 which is way higher than needed. Is that ok? I've been told that it was fine it just means that there is plenty of calcium in the system
Agree. Calcium level is fine.
 

Woud you rather start a tank with dry rock or live rock from the ocean?

  • Dry Rock

    Votes: 204 41.4%
  • Live Rock

    Votes: 163 33.1%
  • Combo of both

    Votes: 117 23.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 1.8%

Online statistics

Members online
1,807
Guests online
3,556
Total visitors
5,363
PremiumAquatics.com
Top