Cant get sick fish out of DT! HELP!

StarterSaltWater

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

I am new to saltwater tanks and have already made my first mistake... I did not QT my fish as I added them.. After my tank cycled I went ahead and gradualy added fish from my recommended LFS and now I have issues. My latest entry is a small hippo tang and powder brown tang and here is where it gets interesting.. The Hippo tang is definitely scratching on rocks/flashing fins/hiding and has a decent size white spot on its side which I suspect is the dreaded ICH. Moving to the Powder Brown Tang, He was doing pretty good his first week, now it appears he has Mouth rot after I noticed his mouth turning white/redding after 3 days - it is also very hard to tell if he also has black ich based on his pigmentation / the fact the dots are not raised off his body they almost look more internal and i'm driving myself crazy. I tried 1 day of Melafix and Pimafix only to ruin my skimmer function and having my office aquarium maintenance tech tell me that is useless to fight any type of fungus/bacterial infection. I have also just started to feed them a mixture of kanaplex/focus to hopefully stop the spread of the bacterial infection the Powder Brown clearly has. ALSO I have started to add polyp medic to my tank in addition to the feedings as I have read this can be safe and easily removed from the tank opposed to copper meds (yes I have read a ton that this medic does not work at all, but I figured I had to give it a shot) .. ALL fish are eating and swimming about normally. I have done a 25 gallon water change yesterday and set up a 20 gallon hospital tank using the water drained from my DT during the water change. The kicker is, I cannot catch these 2 sick fish to try and back track to QT them. I'm assuming I officially now have 1 regular ich, 2 possibly black ich, 3 bacterial infection in my DT. Everyone online has something different to say to h