Changed my mind from Freshwater tank to Salt water..need help!

xpusanx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,
I am very new to this aqua field and all of sudden, my wife and I decided to have fishes. At that time, we had no idea between freshwater vs salt water.
The aquarium we went was freshwater main and convinced by easier maintnance and cheaper price than saltwater . So, we bought a 65 Gallon fish tank with stand, hang-over filter and stuff. (thermometer, heater,LED lights,
I've been keep looking and googling, we really love saltwater fishes and corals, so we changed our mind to Salt water.
Unfortunately, all sales are final so not able to return the tank($320) and filter($120) which is the most expensive stuff. I can return the stand ($250). No fishes were in it, but did a water cycle.

for fishes and corals, my dilemma is
  • sell online the tank and filter as used - not even a half price and return the stand, then buy the saltwater tank with a sump. $$$$
  • convert the tank with a sump by drilling holes. I have not done it and little afraid.
  • or go with a existing filter system. Not sure if I can keep up with frequent water changes.
What would be the best option or what would you do?
Please help. My kids are waiting on Nemos. I already promised, so I can't take it back.

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of filter and what kind of light? The heater will probably be good in either.
There is nothing wrong with using the tank - a glass box is a glass box.
Sump filtration is not required for saltwater - I am currently using a hang on back (tidal 55) on my 40 breeder tank. You can always keep the current filter and get another one built for saltwater for extra filtration. It’s good to keep equipment because you never know when you will need it. And this hobby never stops at one tank lol