Choosing a skimmer for a RS Reefer 350

Max Rackstraw

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Finding the perfect skimmer for my Reefer 350 is proving quite difficult... There is a plethora of options from so many brands of which i have no experience since this will be my first skimmer ever.

-Application
I need recommendations for my particular application which will be a mixed reef undergoing gradual stocking over the course of a year or two. Initially the tank will be lightly stocked but eventually medium to heavily stocked with some sps coral. Therefore i want a skimmer that would still be useful in the beggining of my tank's lifecycle and be fully capable of handling the bioload of the fully stocked system in the future. For this reason i believe i should have an oversized skimmer compared to the manufacturer recommendations?

-DC Pump
I am concerned about noise, i like my system to be as close to silent as i can get it and for that reason i am interested in DC pump skimmers and would pay a bit more for a DC option.

-Overflow hose
I want the skimmer to feature an overflow hose out of the collection cup into a container so that i can run the skimmer for longer without removing the cup for emptying aswell as the reliability factor that having a overflow container provides.

-Budget
My budget is not particularly leaniant here (£350 / $420 at MOST) unfortunately so second hand options are certainly an option and probably the best option.

Any suggestions, recommendations or advice is much appreciated! With all these options out there i cannot make a decision on which size is right let alone which particular skimmer...

OP
OP
Max Rackstraw

Max Rackstraw

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0