Citric Acid / Water Ratio for cleaning

joe-ejs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I am new to using Citric Acid for cleaning pumps, etc. I need to clean my 5gl saltwater storage jugs that have some brown residue from storing saltwater (switching brands BTW). I was wondering what a recommended Water / Citric Acid mixture is for cleaning different things such as my water jugs and pumps, etc.

Also, was wondering what others use as timeframe...2hrs...24hrs...overnight...just curious...Thanks!

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hello,

I am new to using Citric Acid for cleaning pumps, etc. I need to clean my 5gl saltwater storage jugs that have some brown residue from storing saltwater (switching brands BTW). I was wondering what a recommended Water / Citric Acid mixture is for cleaning different things such as my water jugs and pumps, etc.

Also, was wondering what others use as timeframe...2hrs...24hrs...overnight...just curious...Thanks!
Normally citric acid is more used for 'calcified' things. Bleach (plain unscented bleach) - is best for a storage tank.

As to the concentration - citric acid - Randy recommended (in another thread) 1/4 cup per gallon and said 'more is fine'.

Bleach is usually a 10% solution of regular bleach (1 part bleach 9 parts water).

Timeframe - perhaps overnight for bleach (in a ventilated area) - a couple hours for citric acid.

Hope this helps - there are numerous protocols out there depending on what you think it is (the residue)

HawkeyeDJ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Speaking of cleaning with citric acid . . .

I have 2 five gallon jugs I use for salt water. They shortly began to display a brown crud-like residue which tended to accumulate. This week I decided to see if I could clean the crud out of the jugs.

20221002_105522.jpg