Clown fish swimming sideways and falling to the sand

fishermanaurl

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm new to saltwater reefing and really need urgent help. I have 3 clown fish in my tank (2 designer, 1 common) - my tank is 6 weeks old.

To give context, 1 common & 1 designer have been happily swimming around but the 2nd designer is acting really weird.

The 2nd designer seems to have trouble keeping afloat (keeps going sideways and he will turn himself upright again), and he's staying close to the sand, almost sitting on it. Our 2 healthier clowns seems to be huddling up to him today.

Please see video below.

On day 1 when i received him, he was swimming vertically but became better and swam around. Today is Day 5.

Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 5.0
Nitrate: 90.0 (I assume it should be lower, due to Nitrite being present so Nitrate has slight false reading)
Salinity: 1.025
dKH: 8.0

I know my nitrite and nitrate is crazy high, I got these fish when my nitrite was 0.2 (didn't measure nitrate at that time) but it started rising non-stop after that & it was too late. I'm so sorry, I do not want my fish to die. PLEASE HELP!!!

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That nitrite reading is weird that it is so high. Still, most people don't realize it but nitrite toxicity is mitigated by salt in the water, so it is non-toxic to marine fish even at this level. Just a tiny amount of nitrite will kill freshwater fish though. Besides, if it was the water, I would expect all of the fish would be affected.

Are there any invertebrates in the tank? How are they doing?
Is this fish still feeding normally?

Jay

OP
OP
F

fishermanaurl

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes i read that Nitrite doesn’t really matter. I have 3 hermits, 3 turbo snails for 3 weeks now. They're completely fine and feasting on my algae buffet.